How to: Make the perfect cup of green tea

Green tea is really good for you. It must be- it’s a trendy ingredient in makeup and skincare products and it’s always being lauded as a brilliant way of increasing general health. As someone who used to write a tea blog (and will start up blogging about tea once I can have caffeine regularly again!), I have drunk a lot of it. It got to the point, at one stage, that I could tell the difference on sight and taste between Japanese and Chinese green teas*.

The one thing I hear most, though, when discussing green tea is: “Oh, it tastes horrible!” or “It’s really bitter!” Green tea shouldn’t be bitter if it’s brewed properly. The main reasons your green tea is bitter are either:

  • You’re brewing at the wrong temperature
  • You’re leaving the bag in too long

So, to avoid this, I don’t brew with boiling water- either stop the kettle boiling by switching it off just as it sounds like it’s bubbling, mix boiling water with cold water or leave boiled water to cool before you add your tea. You should leave your teabag in for no more than two minutes (I tend to take mine out after about a minute-ish.) Bear in mind, this is the way I make green tea, after making many, many bitter, horrible green teas.

I’ll admit, I’m a bit of a tea snob and prefer my green teas from tea houses such as Tea Palace and, my favourite, Le Palais des Thes, who make my favourite green tea, Fleur de Geisha, a Japanese green tea flavoured with cherry blossom.

Do you like green tea? How do you make yours?

*If you’re interested, Japanese green tea is more yellow than its Chinese counterpart and tastes ‘grassier’ when it’s unflavoured.

3 thoughts on “How to: Make the perfect cup of green tea

  1. Carolina says:

    I love properly prepared green tea. I prefer loose tea over bags because firstly I think it tastes better and secondly because you can control the amount of tea. If you use the right amount you can leave it much longer than bags. This goes for black tea too.

Leave a Reply

