Bluebird Tea Co.’s 2015 summer tea collection*

Ah, summer. Do you still drink tea when the weather’s warm? I do, although I do tend to switch to green tea (I find black tea a bit heavier on hot days, but I do still have a sneaky Earl Grey first thing in a morning!) Anyhoo, let’s get exploring Bluebird’s new teas…

Chinese Treasures

chinese_treasures_1 (1)

Now this is GOOD STUFF. This is the kind of tea I like to drink when I get home from a run and feel alternately smug/virtuous. It’s a green tea that’s been formulated around principles of Chinese medicine and has a pleasant, sweet jasmine flavour. A hint of ginger, added to some ginseng means that this pretty tea packs a hidden punch. I wouldn’t be surprised if this is a permanent addition to the Bluebird collection- and one that health nuts, lovers of green tea and connoisseurs will welcome with open arms. My new favourite green tea by a mile.

Ice Cream Float

ice_cream_float_1

I’m going to be honest with you- this isn’t my favourite. I do like an ice cream float, but one with Coke, rather than root beer. However, root beer is definitely the inspiration behind this one; I loved the idea of caramel pieces, tea, spices and liquorice, but the addition of burdock and sarsaparilla (both strong flavours) was a bit strong for me. However, I have shared this tea with friends who have loved this, so I guess your mileage may vary- and if you like strong, quirky teas with a vintage twist, this could be the tea for you!

Simply The Zest

simply_the_zest_1

Picture an orange grove in Seville (or one of those orangeries posh houses used to have in the olden days)- then mix that juicy flavour and the heady smell of sharp citrus with a good, strong bodied black tea and you’ll find yourself with this lovely tea. It’s summer in a mug and a beautiful tea for a sunny morning. You can’t help but feel cheerful when drinking this- and you’ll also be forgiven for channelling your inner Tina Turner, too. (Just me?)

Pineappple Mint

pineapple_mint_1

This is a pretty tea, isn’t it? It’s also an excellent candidate for iced tea; the ingredients are classic fruit tea- dried pineapple, pepper/spearmints, lemongrass. It surprised me by not being as sweet as I expected, as the mint is really the dominant flavour here. I reckon this would be lovely cold, laced with a cheeky little bit of gin. Lush.

*Sent for review

One thought on “Bluebird Tea Co.’s 2015 summer tea collection*

Leave a Reply

