Christmas 2016 at Bluebird Tea Co.*

christmastea2016

Ah, I feel like I can actually tell you about the package I received the other week! I’ve had a horrendous cold and no sense of taste to speak of. However, all is right now, chez Pomfrett and I can reveal some of the exciting things Bluebird has to offer this festive season.

Some favourites from previous years are back- Snowball and Christmas Cake (the one with the sparkles!) are joined with two new fruit blends: Mulled Cider and the delightfully named Hey, Sugar Plum.

Snowball is as delightfully sweet and coconutty as I remember it being from last year; the big news is that this year, there’s a vegan option (although most of Bluebird’s teas are vegan, the marshmallows in Snowball prevented it from being so in previous years.) I’ve had to keep this one from D, who caught wind of it and nagged for some. But a 4-year-old and caffeine? You’re having a laugh! (He was placated with some caffeine free Gingerbread Chai.)

My response to fruit teas at this time of year is usually ‘does it go well with whiskey?’ and I can say that both of these do. Hey, Sugar Plum is a delightful blend of fruit and spices- it tastes like some kind of Victorian plum pudding and it is lovely.

My favourite, though, is Mulled Cider. It combines two of my most loved flavours: apple and spices. It’s warming, seasonal and, yes- it goes really, really well with alcohol in a warm drink setting (completely necessary when full of cold or, just…cold.)

And let’s talk about the other bits I received. All the hype this year has been on the Advent calendars- which do look amazing- but I think the crackers deserve some praise too. I really like the design of them and D and I had fun pulling them apart. Inside we found a tea joke, a teabag of one of the regular tea blends and a hat. They’re fun and would be great for a Christmas get together with friends.

Finally, I am LOVING Bluebird’s new candle range. I received the Snowball candle and I’m burning it as I type. The thing I like about the candles is that the scent is noticeable but not overpowering and, as much as I love a Yankee candle, sometimes you don’t want that level of scent.

Overall, it’s starting to feel a lot like Christmas over at Bluebird!

2 thoughts on “Christmas 2016 at Bluebird Tea Co.*

Leave a Reply

