Signing up for NaNoWriMo 2016

005913dc851337c39801a8b0f8522afc

Advert for Marquet Ink by Eugene Grasset (1892)

You know how I’m often COMPLETELY NOT BUSY? What with a teaching job, a 4-year-old and other things in my life (before even considering my hobbies and whatnot)? Well, I’ve signed up to do NaNoWriMo this year, too.

I’ve been sort of fruitlessly working on a novel idea since the summer; a mystery set in 1930’s Hollywood in which the most famous woman in the world goes missing, leaving only a trail of evidence that damns her unfaithful husband. I’ve been writing in longhand in notebooks, using my faithful Lamy Al-Star pen and hiding in cafes. But I kind of.. ran out of steam and then real life, a busy job and a ton of marking stopped me from getting on. I needed a kick up the bum, so I signed up for NaNoWriMo.

Now, I signed up a few years ago but ended up flaking out about two weeks in. However, this time I’m trying to be better. Firstly, I’m announcing it on my blog and Twitter. Feel free to nag me/ask for updates if you want. I might even blog my progress, who knows? Secondly, I’m going to give my desk a huge clear-out and maybe put some inspirational things on it (don’t laugh. I’m a visual person.) Finally, I’m going to forego my current Murder, She Wrote habit- I’m setting aside every night between 7.15-8pm to write during the week. D will be in bed (he never wants me to put him to bed, I’m ABSOLUTELY not insulted by this. Any more.) and I will have space to think. Weekends will be slightly different due to Strictly etc. I’m hoping that the discipline will become a habit that sticks with me. We’ll see.

Anyway- wish me luck!

0 thoughts on “Signing up for NaNoWriMo 2016

  1. farleyrose59 says:

    Certainly do wish you luck and am grateful for you mentioning it. Interesting idea and inspiring. Will follow your progress and might just sign up for it next year. Nothing like a bit of procrastination.

Leave a Reply

