Skincare stuff I swear by

Been reading the @mumsnet thread about skincare recommendations and bloggers. I thought I'd show some of my regulars (all bought with my own money!) and most of them are repurchases. I'm still looking for a good day cream though- suggestions welcome! #skincare:

I’ve been reading the recent posts on Mumsnet about trust in beauty bloggers and their recommendations (basically there is no trust in the big bloggers, due to them working with brands and non-disclosure.) Now, I have worked with brands in the past- and it was fun. It never affected my opinion, I always disclosed and I did genuinely find good stuff that helped my eczema (which flared up around my eyes when I was pregnant and has never really gone away.) I also find great recommendations online, especially from Jane at British Beauty Blogger and Sali Hughes at the Guardian.

Anyway, I started thinking about what I use on my face regularly and the products I repurchase. I don’t know about you, but I HATE it when beauty recommendations are stupidly expensive. I don’t have the money to spend £40 on a serum or whatever. All of the products I recommend here can be bought on the high street- and some are regularly on offer. I am on the hunt for a decent daily cleanser and a day cream with a high SPF, so let me know if you have any recommendations! Also- quick disclaimer: none of these links are affiliates.

Nip+Fab Deep Cleansing Fix- £7.95– This is often on offer, but worth the price if you pay full whack for it, as a pot lasts AGES. I use it to remove makeup and it’s lovely and rich; it offers comfort to my sore and sensitive skin. It also moisturises a little. The only downside is that the smell is weirdly antiseptic, but I can get past that as it works wonders on my skin.

Nip+Fab Glycolic Fix Exfoliating Facial Pads £12.95– I’ve been using these since just after Christmas and they’re nice. Maybe not £13 nice, but they do make my skin feel smoother. I am super paranoid about acids on my face though, so only use them a couple of times a week and only at night. I would probably buy again if they were on offer.

skincare1

Quick Fix Facial Masks £4.99– I discovered these about a year ago on a lunch break and I keep going back to them (as much as I like Lush fresh face masks, I always forget they’re in the fridge.) I’m currently using the sensitive skin one and it smells heavenly AND calms my skin. Win/win.

Trilogy Rosehip Oil £16.50– This is my desert island product. I was originally sent this as a trial product when I was pregnant (for stretchmarks) and it quickly became established as part of my routine. So much so, in fact, that I have it on subscription and get a new bottle every four months, which is about right for my usage. My face doesn’t feel 100% until this is on at night- and if I miss it, my skin is very prone to eczema flareups and spots. I like that it’s fragrance free and has a light texture. It is brilliant.

Superdrug Simply Pure Hydrating Serum £2.69– Thanks to a recent Sali Hughes column, this is now out of stock, but I can confirm it’s really nice. Nothing fancy, nothing life changing, but a comfortable serum that works last thing at night and under makeup in the morning. I also like Vichy’s Hydrating Serum, which my friend Kerry bought for me last year, but it’s a lot more expensive than this one and I can’t always afford to spend £17 on a serum.

Superdrug Naturally Radiant Renewing Night Cream £5.99 and Brightening Eye Cream £5.99– as I write this, the whole Naturally Radiant range is on offer (as it usually is, in one form or another.) I actually really like Superdrug’s skincare ranges and think that they’re simple, affordable and reliable. The night cream is thick and comforting (although the jury is out as to whether I like its scent, but hey-ho, at prices this good, I don’t particularly care..) and the eye cream soothes my eyes if they’re in a pre-eczema stage. Good stuff.

Patisserie de Bain Hand Creme in Sugared Violet £3.99– I am OBSESSED with this. I love violet flavoured sweets and this hand cream, made in Haworth (home of the Brontes) is the best hand cream I’ve ever used- especially for knitting. I buy it for everyone and the range of scents is lovely. Definitely worth investigating if you’re a hand cream addict.

Carmex Cherry Lip Balm Pot £2.69– I know that lip balm with camphor etc in it is meant to be the devil, but I love this and have been a paid up Carmex devotee for about fifteen years. As long as I use it sensibly, it’s fine and I like the sweetness of the cherry and the traditional Carmex tingle. For what it’s worth, I tried the posh Nuxe Reve de Miel lip balm once and was unimpressed. But it was only once and my friends who rave about it have used it for a long time, so who knows? All I’ll say is that you’ll wrest my Carmex from my cold, dead hands. Unless it’s a tube- I’m not keen on those.

These have all worked for me and are proper staples in my bathroom. Let me know what yours are- or if you’ve tried any of these.

4 thoughts on “Skincare stuff I swear by

  1. catesbliss says:

    I’m always on the hunt for cheaper alternatives! And I’m also frantic for a day cream with a high SPF. Since I live in a country with sun probably 300 days per year, it’s mandatory!!

    Regarding your hunt for a decent daily cleanser, have you tried micellar waters? I’ve been using them over the past two years (I’m the worst with time references), and it’s such a quick and easy solution!

    Carmex is already a staple of mine, last time I was in the UK, I’ve got the balm tube, and it is truly the best!

    I hope we have some luck finding that day cream!

    Catarina | catesbliss.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

