Strictly Come Dancing: Week 11- Musicals Week

I have a general mistrust of musicals. Despite the fact that my sister and I were brought up to the greatest hits of Andrew Lloyd Webber (and I could probably still sing ‘Magical Mister Mistoffelees’ perfectly), I personally just don’t really think most modern musicals are much cop. I may make an exception for Chicago and I did enjoy Moulin Rouge, but you would have to pay me quite a lot of money to watch Les Miserables; if you’re a musical fan, I’m not knocking you- it’s just not for me.

Anyway, so last week we lost Peter and now is the time that those who have been excellent start dropping like flies; it can be quite hard to predict who will win, although apparently Jay is still favourite. We’ll see.

Shall we proceed? I have mulled wine and I’m ready to GO.

Georgia and Giovanni- Foxtrot (Beauty & The Beast)

CVfBg2RW4AEznHS

It’s customary for the youngest female celebrity to dress as a princess, preferably Disney-based, at some point in the competition and so it’s Georgia’s turn. She has brown hair, so I guess it makes sense she’s Belle?  I’d be miffed if I was a dancer paid to stand there dressed as a teapot though. Awks. (She looked quite murderous, mind, which cheered me up NO END.) Pretty dance, though, even if it was on the slower side for a foxtrot.

Scores: Craig- 9 Darcey- 9 Len- 9 Bruno- 9 TOTAL: 36

Anita and Gleb – Argentine Tango (Cell Block Tango)

CVfDjlyWwAEeu2r

I have vague recollections of this song being used for a tango/Argentine tango in the past and it’s a good fit (if a little predictable?) Last week, Gleb was criticised for not sticking to the rules, but the Argentine Tango should be right up his street; his choreography is passionate and he likes to challenge Anita. I loved Gleb’s camp guard at the start and this definitely had brilliant elements of an Argentine Tango- even if I did think there was too little in hold (for me) and that Anita was a bit TOO smiley at points! Also, Len’s using weird compliments again: two weeks after comparing Jamelia to a tram, he compares Anita to a cowpat…

Scores: Craig- 6 Darcey- 8 Len- 9 Bruno- 8 TOTAL: 31

Kellie and Kevin-Viennese Waltz (Oom Pah Pah)

CVfFfYZXIAAuNem

These two have had a bad few weeks and the comments on the Strictly blog were saying that this is a really weird choice for the Viennese Waltz (I’ve only ever seen snippets of Oliver!) I did enjoy the Victorian Barbara Windsor impression and the whole thing felt like a raucous party at a gin palace in 1880. I thought it was a good job, considering it was more in your face than a usual light-and-airy Viennese Waltz. A working class cockney Viennese Waltz, if you will. HUGE FUN. (Although, Craig was all “It’s common as muck!” and then Darcey complimented Kevin on producing a dance that suited Kellie’s personality… ha!)

Scores: Craig- 9 Darcey- 9 Len- 9 Bruno-  9 TOTAL: 36

Jay and Aliona- Rumba (Falling Slowly)

CVfHvnuWsAE-M69

Brilliant. Another rumba. Fabulous.

tumblr_lua0ojDwTz1qh7impo1_500

 

I mean, I’m not sure how many rumbas are performed in jeans. I do think Jay’s getting better at expressing his emotions though, so that’s nice. As an interesting aside, I *think* this goes down as the highest scoring rumba ever.

Scores: Craig-9 Darcey-10 Len- 10 Bruno- 10 TOTAL: 39

Katie and Anton-Foxtrot (Maybe This Time)

CVfJSdpW4AAlgux

I reckon Anton is THRILLED to have got this far, but I’m not sure that he and Katie will make it to the final; as a pairing they have been a bit too inconsistent and, of the two couples doing foxtrot tonight, they are the perhaps the weakest. This was fine, as it goes, but there was a lot of faffing about at the start. Still, it’s nice to see Anita’s Ghost wig make its third appearance this series. I predict that next year it’ll be dancing with Aljaz as a contestant in its own right.

Scores: Craig- 8 Darcey- 9 Len- 9 Bruno- 9 TOTAL: 35

Helen and Aljaz- Paso Doble (At The End Of The Day)

CVfLWDIWoAAl90N

When I saw that Helen was doing a paso, I did wonder if she could channel all that passion, anger and sexuality needed to do a really good job. I’ll also confess that I did wonder if it might be the dance that led her to the dance-off. I felt that she looked a bit forced and in pain at times, but then I didn’t go to drama school, so then who knows. It was so busy that I didn’t actually enjoy watching it, which is a shame

Scores: Craig- 8 Darcey- 8 Len- 9 Bruno- 9 TOTAL: 34

So we end with JAY at the top and ANITA at the bottom, but my money’s on Katie and Helen in the dance off… Disagree? Let me know!

 

 

One thought on “Strictly Come Dancing: Week 11- Musicals Week

Leave a Reply

