Strictly Come Dancing Week #7

Ah, another week, another Strictly in which we all watch for sequins, Claudia and general ‘wtf?’-ery. Last week, The Lovely Carol’s fans saved her from certain elimination in the dance-off and Kirsty finally bowed out. Because Carol and Jeremy clearly have quite big fanbases, this means that pretty much anyone is at risk- although poor Jamelia seems to be bearing the brunt of it at the moment. Is it the week she finally leaves?

Peter and Janette- Charleston (Do your Thing)

CTOthFAWEAAuN3Z (1)

This is a fun pairing of dance and song! With Janette’s manic energy, I was expecting a lively, frantic dance- I did wonder, though, if Peter’s perfectionism would allow him to get a bit messy. The Charleston looks painful if it’s not loose and free. This was a fun, high energy dance that I enjoyed loads- Peter’s clearly taken the judges’ comments from last week on board. A well deserved high score. (It was nice to see the BBC committing to budget cuts by re-using Anita’s Ghost wig on Janette, mind.)

Scores: Craig- 9 Darcey- 10 Len- 10 Bruno-9 TOTAL: 38

Jamelia and Tristan- Viennese Waltz (Trouble)

CTOvfl2WUAAPMqe

I love this song and can sort of see how it would work for a Viennese Waltz. Jamelia has suffered at the hands of the voting public and it’ll be interesting to see how she does this week; she’s good in hold and last time she was in a ballroom dance, she was spared the dance-off. This was a fairly nice, inoffensive Viennese Waltz- but will that be enough to save her? (If she’s in the dance-off again, unless she’s against Carol or Jeremy, it’s a good chance she’ll go.)

Scores: Craig-7 Darcey-7 Len-7 Bruno-7 Total: 28

Carol and Pasha- American Smooth (Man! I feel Like a Woman)

CTOwomBWcAAJ9rc

Pasha, I LOVE you, I truly do. But this is a weird-ass song choice for the American Smooth. Are you past caring at this stage, knowing that The Lovely Carol’s band of BBC Breakfast fans will see you through whatever? Just what ARE you doing? I mean, this took what felt like centuries to get started and felt like trudging through treacle. If I didn’t LOVE PASHA, I would seriously wonder if he’s given up a bit. I still love these two though.

Scores: Craig-3 Darcey-5 Len-5 Bruno-4 TOTAL: 17

Helen and Aljaz- Rumba (Hello)

CTOyn_2WUAA7Q8S

“How can we be cool and trendy and generally give X Factor a kicking?”
“Let’s let the band loose on Adele’s new song and see if we can get away with murdering it!”

And lo, this rumba came to pass.

It was a good rumba (and we know how I feel about the dance), but was not going to get Strictly’s first full marks for the rumba. Oh- and Helen was back as Elsa from Frozen, but the one from the saucy grown up re-make,

Scores: Craig-8 Darcey-8 Len-7 Bruno-8 TOTAL:31

Jay and Aliona- Argentine Tango (Diferente)

CTO0fVnXIAEmUXU

I love.love.love it when we start to see Argentine Tango performed. It’s probably my all-time favourite dance and I had high hopes when I saw Jay was dancing it. It’s funny how he seems quite sweet and then suddenly can go all ALPHA HULK SMASH as soon as the music starts. It was good, not as jerky and pointy as I usually remember, but nice job- as per, of course!

Scores: Craig-8 Darcey- 9 Len-8 Bruno-9 TOTAL: 34

Katie and Anton- Quickstep (42nd Street)

CTO2xPPWwAEGXWB

This is Old-School Anton, doing what he does best and something we’ve not seen him really do properly for years. He really is excellent at putting together routines that wouldn’t look out of place in a Fred ‘n’ Ginger musical and it’s nice to see this showcased with a dancer like Katie. This was lovely and properly Old Hollywood. I don’t even care that there were bits when it went wrong.

Scores: Craig-6 Darcey-7 Len-7 Bruno-6 TOTAL: 26

Anita and Gleb- Jive (The Boy Does Nothing)

CTO4TbIWUAABHLm

Remember when Alesha was first the winner and then the judge of Strictly? Yeah, I’d kind of forgotten too, but this song was released after she left to judge Britain’s Got Talent. (Do you think she ever regrets that move? Anyway. When I heard that Gleb had been choreographing another ‘insane move’ I was all like:

eyeroll

I did not waste my eyeroll, after seeing him catapult his nether regions towards her face. Anyway, this was great, if a little showy at times- but that seems to be Gleb’s calling card at the moment.

Scores: Craig-8 Darcey- 8 Len-9 Bruno-9 TOTAL: 34

Kellie and Kevin- Waltz (Love Ain’t Here Anymore)

CTO5_i6XAAE7gS6

Meh, I’m not inspired by the choice of song, although we all know that whatever these two touch turns to gold at the moment. As everything they’ve danced so far, this was classy, spot on and accomplished.

Scores: Craig-8 Darcey-8 Len-8 Bruno-8 TOTAL: 32

Jeremy and Karen-Tango (Go West)

CTO73GYWEAAQ1Np

If someone asked you what the most unlikely song and dance pairing could be, I reckon you still wouldn’t have come up with this. It’s just… weird. I get that Karen’s trying to capitalise on Jezza’s kitsch popularity, but I wonder if this is a step too far? I dunno- the dance seemed to have a lot of love on Twitter and was SO BONKERS that  reckon people will vote for it. Seriously, it’s one of the weirdest things I’ve ever seen and I spend a lot of my time on the internet.(Also, if you happen to have made a gif of Craig doing an impression of Jeremy’s bottom, please do give me a head’s up.)

Scores: Craig-4 Darcey-6 Len-6 Bruno-5 TOTAL:21

Georgia and Giovanni-Samba (Volare)

CTO98R8WIAAfukE

I’m not sure that, a week after topping the leaderboard, you want to then go with the dance that has been the kiss of death for so many couples in the history of Strictly. However, despite my general ambivalence about this pairing, they do seem to work well together. Plus, I love me some Gipsy Kings. I don’t think this will see them in the dance off- it was a fast, fun dance (even if Giovanni had nicked a bit of the Mararena at one point!)

Scores: Craig-8 Darcey-9 Len-9 Bruno-9 TOTAL: 35

And so another week ends. This week we have PETER in the top spot and CAROL in the bottom. I think anyone in the middle band is at risk.

(ALSO: next Saturday I am going to a party. Benn and I will be going as Mulder and Scully- it’s a 90s themed fancy dress party. We don’t go around dressed as famed TV duos for fun or anything. Anyway, this means that my blogpost will go up on Sunday as soon as I’ve watched everything, but it will be before the results show. Handily, this means I can fast forward those cringey VTs!)

Leave a Reply

