#PaperHaul: Featured- Rory J. Murphy

It was a stormy grey day when this month’s #PaperHaul landed in my mailbox. I tried to resist it, but as any stationery lover knows, these little boxes are as hard to resist as a dame in a silk dress. What would the box yield to closer inspection, I wondered?

Oh, Ava Gardner, I love you.

Oh, Ava Gardner, I love you.

And then I had it. It was a collaboration between #PaperHaul and Rory J. Murphy. I knew then that all hope was lost; that I was drawn in to something beyond my control. You see, this box held something inspired by a weakness of mine- a love of film noir, of broads and dames, detectives and bad guys; of Bogey and Bacall.

tumblr_ng8h6s1mjq1qcay1ao1_500

Let’s examine the evidence, shall we?

ITEM 1: The Whole Shebang

20151029_122437

Here you can see all the evidence together, clear as day. Paints a pretty picture, don’t it? It’s Film Noir with a bit of Frank Miller (but without the violence.)

Item 2: The Notebook

20151029_122533

Every detective needs a book to keep a note of hoodlums, dames need a book to keep track of conquests. I just need a book to keep track of boring things like budgets and how many rows I’ve knitted. Whatever, I’m channelling my inner crimefighter with this.

Item 2: The Calling Cards

20151029_122523

Everyone has a vice. What’s yours? Liquor? Lipstick? A pistol? Your calling card is here, my friend, in the form of these mini-cards.

Item 3: The Main Event

20151029_122548

Film noir needs its femme fatale and this one appears to be influenced by Rita Hayworth in Gilda. Is that a stocking brandished sexily or… with murder in mind? Only you and the recipient can decide.

Item 4: The Mugshots

20151029_122506

That bobby pin shows that a woman’s been in the interrogating room… has she been up to NO GOOD?

You’ll never get anywhere in this town if you’re not good with faces, kid. Helpfully, you can stick these wherever you like. And the cards are cool; the top one reminds me of Ava Gardner and the bottom one, of course, has more than an air of Bogey and Bacall.

Item 5: The Tape

20151029_122608

Tape’s important. It seals crime scenes and holds your anatomy in its place when needed. This tape will declare your love of the hard stuff AND stick paper together. What more could you want?

lauren-smoking-gif

You can register for #PaperHaul here.

Disclaimer: I get my box at a discounted rate, but my reviews are honest and reflect my own opinions.

One thought on “#PaperHaul: Featured- Rory J. Murphy

Leave a Reply

