Strictly Come Dancing 2015: Week #6- Hallowe’en Special

I hope you raised a cup a soup in honour of Ainsley’s defeat last week (HOW IS KIRSTY STILL IN?) and that you’ve been preparing yourselves for a slew of terrible Hallowe’en puns in this week’s show. Although there’s a rumba this week- The Lovely Carol and Pasha- most of the dances are my favourites, so I’m hoping the only scary thing is Craig. It’s also worth noting that no women have yet left the competition; will this week be the week? The leader board is so chaotic at the minute that anything is possible…

Katie and Anton- Paso (Phantom of the Opera)

CSqsghoXIAArt4R

Now, obviously we all wait and see whether this will be A Good Week, in which Anton has created something that Katie can a) do and b) looks good doing so, or A Bad Week where Katie looks like a startled foal. This week, Katie looks completely unrecognisable- the dance was OK. Some of it looked AMAZING, such as the ILLEGAL lifty twirly bits and some of it looked a bit messy. I agree with Len that this could have been more fiery.

Scores: Craig- 4 Darcey-6 Len-6 Bruno-5 TOTAL: 21

Kirsty and Brendan- Charleston (Bad Romance)

CSquW7CWUAAHc1G

Oh. Kirsty does not do well when she’s not being dragged around the floor by Brendan; she needs the support of being in hold to control her posture/nerves. But then again, Jamelia did surprisingly well in the Charleston, so there was hope. But, alas. although she was trying (God loves a trier), this was clumpy and not a fun, light Charleston- and not even fun to watch. Boo. (Not in a Hallowe’en way.)

Scores: Craig-3 Darcey-5 Len-5 Bruno-4 TOTAL:17

Jeremy and Karen- Salsa (Thriller)

CSqwRv8WoAAhgK-

Like Ghostbusters, this is legally required by the laws of Strictly to be performed on or around Hallowe’en. Which is nice, really, as it suits Jeremy’s ‘Dad dancing after having a few at your auntie’s third wedding’. Also, I know that Jez hasn’t been on his Radio 2 show all week. Has it meant an improved performance? No. Did I care it was messy? Nada. I think Len summed it up when he said it had “awkward charm”. I think he could make it to Blackpool- like many a ‘novelty’ dancer before him- and leave at that point.

Scores: Craig-4 Darcey-6 Len-6 Bruno-6 TOTAL: 22

Anita and Gleb- Waltz (Once Upon A Dream)

CSqyCv9XAAEgQTB

Last week’s tango was really good (even if I am ambivalent about Gleb The Man, I am happy to admit I like his choreography, which really does suit Anita) and Anita’s make up was phenomenal. If I was at all interested in Hallowe’en, I would totally have copied it. Anita looks amazing as Maleficent- and I hadn’t twigged that this was the actual song from Sleeping Beauty- but the goth-y version suited a dark and accomplished waltz.

Scores: Craig-6 Darcey-8 Len-8 Bruno-7 TOTAL: 29

Jamelia and Tristan-Jive (The Time Warp)

CSqzhHhWsAAnarK

Whenever I hear that someone’s going to dance to The Time Warp, I instantly think of Spaced and Tim’s rant. Anyway, back to the issue at hand, which is NOT about first year drama students, but rather an ex-popstar. Jamelia did really well in the Charleston, so I had hope for her in the Jive (they’re not that dissimilar) and maybe she’s saved herself from a third time in the dance-off. I’m not convinced- Tristan seemed to be holding on to her a lot and she seemed a bit wooden, there wasn’t a lot of the side by side that we’re used to. I wonder if Jamelia has lost a bit of confidence?

Scores: Craig- 6 Darcey-6 Len- 7 Bruno-7 TOTAL: 26

Jay and Aliona – American Smooth (Lil Red Riding Hood)

CSq1mJFWwAAw7Ci

Apparently Jay has replaced Peter as the bookies’ favourite and every week my Twitter timeline explodes with declarations of love, crushes and general goodwill towards him. He has been the genuine surprise of this year’s contest (and I’d like to KEEP REMINDING YOU that I’ve called him the dark horse from the first time we saw him dance.) Jay has struggled with being in hold before, but I think this was a sophisticated, old school American Smooth- despite the makeup.

Scores: Craig- 8 Darcey-9 Len- 8 Bruno- 9 TOTAL: 34

Kellie and Kevin- Paso (Schools Out/Hedwig’s Theme)

CSq3GvQXIAAGa8e

Oh, I had high hopes for these two- could they do for the Paso what Jay did for Jive? Although Harry and Hermione Do Paso is a bit of an eccentric idea, it just.. worked. Powerful and a proper Paso. (Even if we all know Hermione would never, ever dance on a table.) I was expecting a higher score, though.

Scores: Craig- 7 Darcey-7 Len-7 Bruno- 7 TOTAL: 28

Carol and Pasha-Rumba (I Think I Love You)

CSq5LwdWoAA4gKC

It is well established that I love these two, but that I equally loathe the rumba. Also, weird song choice AGAIN. I mean, the rumba is supposed to be slow, non? (As an aside, I liked the rumba danced by Peter and Janette last week, but I think that’s the only one I’ve ever liked. Ever.) This didn’t look like a rumba to me. At all. It was a lot of walking, a bit in hold and then.. meh. Oh well.

Scores: Craig- 2 Darcey- 4 Len- 4 Bruno- 3 TOTAL:13

Georgia and Giovanni- Tango (Ghostbusters)

CSq6-3jWIAEv1dX

Well, it’s Hallowe’en, so it’s legally binding that SOMEONE had to dance to Ghostbusters (or The Monster Mash) and this year, these two drew the short straw. A tango? To a song about Bill Murray running round with a glorified vacuum strapped to his back? OK then. However, this was a GREAT tango and fantastic to watch.

Scores: Craig- 8 Darcey- 9 Len-9 Bruno-9 TOTAL: 35

Peter and Janette- Foxtrot (Ghost)

CSq8wyEWEAAlKwD

This week, according to The Mirror, Craig cast doubt on Peter’s ability to stay in the competition much longer, citing the fact that he’s one of a number of strong contestants and that he’s been overtaken by others (*cough*JAY*cough). He’s also no longer the favourite and it’s got to sting a bit, right? I mean after all, this is man who is a perfectionist. This was a pretty dance, but not my favourite.They are brilliant at showcasing their strong relationship, which is a really useful skill, but I think they could do more.

Scores: Craig-7 Darcey-7 Len-7 Bruno- 7 TOTAL: 28

Helen and Aljaz -Samba (Take Your Mama)

CSq-FssXAAEHzZx

I LOVE Scissor Sisters, although this feels a bit slow for a samba? Mind you Helen can literally do no wrong in my eyes. This week she was clearly channelling Jane Fonda in Barbarella. Now, traditionally, samba is a dangerous dance, but of course these two nailed it. Even while dressed as mummies.

Scores: Craig- 8 Darcey- 9 Len-8 Bruno-9 TOTAL: 34

So we end this week with GEORGIA at the top of the leader board and CAROL at the bottom. Could a woman be going this week? I’m predicting that Carol and Kirsty will be in the dance-off tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

