Strictly Come Dancing 2015: Week #3- Movie Night

Movie Night. The annual event in which a host of mild celebrities attempt to dance to songs with vague connections to films as the beloved Strictly singers murder cinematic classics. Last week, Iwan made a not-sad- exit from the show… who will go this week?

Carol and Pasha- Quickstep (Wash That Man, South Pacific)

CQ-RUUcW8AA_W0z

Thank God they didn’t foist yet another weather related song/routine on The Lovely Carol this week (Singing in the Rain, The Rain in Spain etc. Any other suggestions in the comments, please.) I do, however, think this is a good song choice for The Loveliest Couple To Ever Grace Strictly. Also, Carol has done much better in hold than when, er, ‘freestyling’. Anyway, tonight she looks very 50s Hollywood costume-wise (who doesn’t love a polka dot?), if not quite Ginger Rogers when out of hold. When she’s on her own, she looks a bit lost and as stiff as the bamboo shower screen behind her. What she lacks in skill, she makes up for in enthusiasm and LOVELINESS.

Scores: Craig-3 Darcey-5 Len-5 Bruno -4 Total- 17

Anthony and Oti- Paso Doble (Eye of the Tiger, Rocky)

CQ-TM8tWoAAWcL8

I LOVE HOW SUBTLE Strictly is when it comes to reminding us what occupation a contestant has. The Paso is one of my favourite dances (who doesn’t love a pretend bull and wooshy skirts?) Nice use of something he’s good at- er, boxing and standing still- though. Also wondering if Shock Absorber make spangly running bras like Oti’s.

Scores: Craig-4 Darcey-6 Len-5 Bruno-4 Total:19

Katie and Anton- Cha Cha (Pretty Woman, Pretty Woman)

CQ-VF0vWIAAwPWg

Oh, it wouldn’t be Strictly without either this or Dirty Dancing being rolled out at least once; both films I was forced to watch on a hen weekend for a doomed wedding (I was LITERALLY sat on so I watched it.) Did anyone else think this took ages to actually get started? Lots of Katie not doing much, which is a shame, because she’s really good. The judges were also disappointed and my Twitter feed seemed so too.

Scores: Craig-4 Darcey-6 Len-5 Bruno-5 Total:20

Kellie and Kevin- Charleston (Cantina Band, Star Wars)

CQ-W8N3WcAEZk0B

Here’s a shocking confession: I have never, in my 31 years on this earth, seen Star Wars. I did wonder if Charleston/Star Wars would work and… yep, it did- I especially liked the light sabres as canes; imagine what Charlie Chaplin could’ve done with one of those bad boys. The music was perfect and fun- and I might even watch the films now (but maybe not the one with Jar Jar Binks in.) These two are just. brilliant. Even Craig liked it.

Scores: Craig-8 Darcey-8 Len-8 Bruno-8 Total:32

Ainsley and Natalie- Cha Cha (Boogie Wonderland, Happy Feet)

CQ-YojUWIAAj686

Ah, the Cha Cha, a dance that virtually guarantees UN-happy feet (wasn’t it, at one stage, the dance that saw people eliminated?) Apparently this is one of Ainsley’s favourite films. I liked that this didn’t have a faffy intro and that these two just look like they love EVERY SINGLE MINUTE of their routine. Plus bonus points for Natalie’s fringing, obviously. Ainsley did look like he was watching and waiting for Natalie a couple of times and forgot himself a bit, but overall it was loads of fun.

Scores: Craig-3 Darcey-6 Len-6 Bruno-5 Total:20

Georgia and Giovanni- Rumba (Writing’s On The Wall, Spectre)

CQ-aZY5WwAA-kT3

I heard this song yesterday. God, it’s dull. Mind you, so’s the rumba and these two aren’t that interesting either. For me, the Argentine Tango is the better ‘passionate’ dance. They did at least look the part though, so that’s something I guess? I do like it when Len puts his ‘Boss of Dance’ hat on and gets cross like he did with this though.

Score: Craig-7 Darcey-7 Len-6 Bruno-7 Total:27

Helen and Aljaz- Foxtrot (I Wanna Be Loved By You, Some Like It Hot)

CQ-cC7fW8AECrF5

OF COURSE they paired Helen with a song made famous by Marilyn Monroe (what else were they going to do? Have her dance to Let It Go?) Some Like It Hot happens to be a favourite film of mine and many have tread the Marilyn shaped path before, so expectations were high. I thought she channelled Miss Monroe well- elegant and stylish- and the whole dance was very Old Hollywood. Divine.

Score: Craig-8 Darcey-8 Len-8 Bruno-8 Total:32

Daniel and Kristina- Cha Cha (Summer Nights, Grease)

CQ-d4WfWoAAQeDp

When I first saw this choice of song, I thought- hang on, Daniel O’Donnell playing the part of a teenager? Then I remembered that most of the actual cast were probably older than he is now when they filmed Grease, so I gave him a pass. His Charleston last week was a) weirdly hypnotic and b) strangely good, so I had high hopes for this. So Daniel looked like Morrissey if he didn’t work out and follow a vegan diet and the dance itself seemed a bit… stiff? I dunno. I enjoyed singing along. I will never unsee him doing that lip lick though.

Score: Craig-4 Darcey-6 Len-6 Bruno-5 Total:21

Kirsty and Brendan- American Smooth (He’s a Tramp, Lady and the Tramp)

CQ-ft9xWoAAt-Rc

One of the more underrated Disney films, but a good song (I like the floozy dog who sings the song.) Kirsty seemed a bit better this week, but Brendan did keep a grip on her and looked to be guiding at one point- although at times she seemed out of sync a bit. She’s going to really struggle in Latin dances if she progresses further. It was also nice to see my hairdo from circa 1994 making a comeback.

Score: Craig-5 Darcey-6 Len-6 Bruno-6 Total:23

Peter and Janette- Paso Doble (He’s a Pirate, Pirates of the Caribbean)

CQ-h4rlXAAACcEl

Let’s admit it- we all have high hope for these two, don’t we? So would a dance inspired by the high seas be a success? Well, I certainly didn’t expect to enjoy seeing Peter as Jack Sparrow quite so much. There were definitely some cool tricks in there and it looked the part, although I didn’t enjoy it as much as his other dances so far. It’s also the first week he’s not been at the top of the leader board.

Scores: Craig-7 Darcey-7 Len-7 Bruno-7 Total:28

Jamelia and Tristan- Salsa (Heaven Must Be Missing An Angel, Charlie’s Angels)

CQ-jVC7WsAAElbv

I feel that this is scraping the barrel a bit, song/movie choice wise. Last week Jamelia was in the bottom two, despite looking like a beautiful Christmas tree, and that has to affect confidence. This was OK, definitely an improvement, but still felt a bit clumsy again at points… I love that she cried when she got a better score than the criticism hinted at though.

Scores: Craig-6 Darcey-7 Len-6 Bruno-6 Total: 25

Jeremy and Karen- Charleston (Top Hat, White Tie & Tails, Top Hat)

CQ-lQKIWsAAXkgb

Imagine, if you will, if Fred Astaire was your slightly inebriated but favourite male relative and was trying to show you a dance from his ‘youth’. Ladies and gentlemen, I give you Jeremy. His facial expressions were brilliant and his technique actually wasn’t as bad as I’d feared. He’s really improved and I look forward to seeing how he progresses. I love it when they come out and confound our expectations. Craig was a bit harsh, I thought.

Scores: Craig-3 Darcey-7 Len-7 Bruno-7 Total: 24

Anita and Gleb- American Smooth (Unchained Melody, Ghost)

CQ-n4ODW8AAl3D7

Ghost is one of those films I remember seeing at a sleepover when I was about twelve and not really getting. It’s also a film I’ve never felt the need to re-watch. To be honest, I was hoping that the team picked the Robson and Jerome version of Unchained Melody, which hinted at their future glorious careers as Channel 5 fishing experts and characters-in-quite-good-series-who-would-beat-you-up, respectively. This felt more like a rumba at points, than an American Smooth (I prefer my American Smooths to be a bit more Fred ‘n’ Ginger.) Also, was that actually Gleb? Where was the facial hair?

Scores: Craig-6 Darcey-8 Len-8 Bruno-7 Total: 29

Jay and Aliona- Jive (Misirlou/You Never Can Tell, Pulp Fiction)

CQ-o9efWoAAazFY

I recently saw Pulp Fiction properly for the first time and loved it. This could’ve gone one of two ways- really, really cool or really, really awful. Thankfully, it was the former. Jay perfectly channelled Travolta (no Morrissey, this time!) and it was just brilliant. A fantastic end to the show. Possibly one of my favourite dances on Strictly ever. Jay started as a terrified fella, but is swiftly becoming one to watch. I love him, becaue he seems genuinely unassuming. LOVE. LOVE. LOVE.

Scores: Craig-9 Darcey-9 Len-9 Bruno-10 Total: 37

So we find Jay at the top of the leaderboard by a country mile (well, five points) and Carol at the bottom. I’m not sure she’ll be in the bottom two tomorrow as she’s quite popular… it’s always the ones in the middle that are at risk. So it wouldn’t be a surprise to see Anthony, Kirsty, Katie (although will that happen?) or any of the others. Bit of a cop out, but I can’t honestly call it.

One thought on “Strictly Come Dancing 2015: Week #3- Movie Night

  1. Kate Gorman says:

    Jay saved the best until last! Brilliant Jive!!! WOW!! First 10 of the series! YAY! Fab music! I also thought Katie’s dance took a while to get going. Didn’t like Anthony’s dance at all and I can’t stand ‘Eye of the Tiger.’ I also enjoyed Jeremy, Kellie and Helen’s dances. (Top Hat is one of my favourite films and I’ve never seen Some Like It Hot but I’ve heard its good.)

    I think Anthony or Carol are going tonight.

Leave a Reply

