Strictly Come Dancing 2015- Week 1, Show 2

No wine tonight. Instead, for the first 45 minutes, I had a 2 year old saying things like “Why is that man dancing funny? Do you like my cape? Is this finished yet? Can I watch Monster Mash?” The effect is very similar to being in a room with very drunk people, to be fair. Anyway, let’s get the party started, shall we? If you want to read last night’s review, it’s here.

Jay and Aliona- Cha Cha (Reach Out)

Source: BBC

Source: BBC

I think Jay could be a dark horse of the competition; literally my whole timeline was all ‘Aww, bless’. Even I said that I thought it was mean giving someone so nervous the cha cha to start with… but, despite being dressed like a man trying to be a ‘Cool Dad At A Wedding’, I think Jay surprised everyone. Yes, his face gave away his extreme concentration, but it really was much better than I think most people anticipated.

Scores: Craig- 5, Darcey- 8, Len-7, Bruno-7. TOTAL: 27

Kirsty and Brendan- Cha cha (Starry, Starry Night)

Source: BBC

Source: BBC

In the picture above, Kirsty looks terrified. I think she probably was (also, did anyone else think it was weird when she kind of said you couldn’t be sporty AND girly? I’d always assumed she was kind of both…) Anyway. It wasn’t a brilliant waltz, she was too nervous, there were a few clunky movements when they were changing hold. It was quite a big contrast with the other supposedly nervous contestant, Jay.

Scores: Craig-4, Darcey- 5, Len- 6, Bruno-5. TOTAL: 20

Jeremy and Karen- Cha Cha (September)

Source: BBC

Source: BBC

Well, it’s nice to see uncles of the land represented in the choreography of Strictly. I have definitely seen this kind of footwork at various weddings. I like Jeremy, but Latin dancing really isn’t his forte, is it?

Scores: Craig- 2, Darcey- 6, Len- 6, Bruno- 5. TOTAL: 19

Georgia and Giovanni- Jive (Dear Future Husband)

Source: BBC

Source: BBC

I love the jive. This was very cute and fun- at points, it made me think of those old pin-up paintings from the 40s and 50s, cheeky and a bit saucy. Younger female soap stars seem to do quite well in Strictly and Giovanni seems to be the new Vincent, so it’ll be interesting to see how far they go. They can definitely not make ‘Team GG’ a thing though.

Scores: Craig- 6, Darcey- 7, Len- 7, Bruno- 7. TOTAL: 27

Ainsley and Natalie- Tango (Voulez Vous)

Source: BBC

Source: BBC

Ah, King Cup-a-Soup! I’m just WAITING for Natalie to incorporate some of his foodie moves… a pepper mill grind in the jive, perhaps? Over-exaggerated mixing bowl move in the paso? ONLY TIME WILL TELL. Anyway. This was dramatic and Ainsley looked like a man both concentrating and channelling his inner petulant toddler. His shoulders looked quite uncomfortable too. I bet those muscles felt sore the next day.

Scores: Craig- 4, Darcey- 5, Len- 6, Bruno- 5. TOTAL: 20

Katie and Anton- Jive (Roll Over Beethoven)

Source: BBC

Source: BBC

I really like these two and I love how chuffed Anton is that he’s got a decent partner this year. Slightly marred by another daft intro, this time involving a harp- this was a great jive. There were bits where it looked muddled, but the judges loved it, so who am I to judge? (Ha. Judge.) It’s a bit special to be told by Craig that you’ve danced the most stylised jive ever on the show- on your first week.

Scores: Craig- 6, Darcey- 6, Len- 7, Bruno- 7. TOTAL: 26

Iwan and Ola- Tango (Keep On Running)

Source: BBC

Source: BBC

I really can’t get excited about these two. I missed the lead up (D was kicking off as it was bed time) and I got a bit confused and thought this was a really bland paso. It wasn’t, it was a bland tango with bits of paso in it. Oh, and another stupid intro. Brilliant. Let’s hope they don’t become a ‘thing’ more than usual. To me this just felt a bit… gimmicky.

Scores: Craig- 3, Darcey- 5, Len- 5, Bruno- 4. TOTAL: 17

Jamelia and Tristan- Waltz (Do Right Woman)

Source: BBC

Source: BBC

Pretty, princessy, graceful to start. I really like Tristan and would like to see more of him this series. However, the dance did get a bit messy and it was a bit disappointing- more so when you think how awesome Helen’s waltz was yesterday. I reckon if Jamelia gets to the stage where she can pick a dance to re-do, this would be the one she picks.

Scores: Craig- 4, Darcey- 6, Len- 6, Bruno- 5. TOTAL: 21

Peter and Janette- Cha Cha (Ain’t No Other Man)

Source: BBC

Source: BBC

Argh, I LOVE these two (and not just because he’s my Former Neighbour.) I just love Janette anyway, she’s so bouncy and fun and I think Peter is genuinely a nice bloke. This was brilliant and showed real star potential- I’m betting a place in the final is in the running at the very least here. Also, the song was a brilliant choice from Christina Aguilera’s vintage period and suited the dance really well. I do often take the mickey out of some of the interpretations on Strictly, but this one was well-matched.

Scores: Craig-7, Darcey- 8, Len- 8, Bruno-7. TOTAL: 30

So, we end week 1 with Peter and Janette at the top of the leader board and The Lovely Carol and reigning champ Pasha at the bottom. Let me know your thoughts- and I’ll see you next week!

Leave a Reply

