Pause. Reflect. Remember.

Today would have been my Grandma’s birthday; instead, it’s the day of her funeral. So I decided to post the poem that I’m hoping to read later at the service. I chose it as it sums up her attitude to life- and death (I cried the first time I spoke to her after her diagnosis of liver and lung cancer. She told me, not unkindly, to pull myself together and keep my chin up.)

Christina Rossetti is the poet I turn to most frequently at times involving family; I wore a pendant with a line from Birthday on my wedding day and it feels right that she’s with me again today.

Remember

Remember me when I am gone away,
         Gone far away into the silent land;
         When you can no more hold me by the hand,
Nor I half turn to go yet turning stay.
Remember me when no more day by day
         You tell me of our future that you plann’d:
         Only remember me; you understand
It will be late to counsel then or pray.
Yet if you should forget me for a while
         And afterwards remember, do not grieve:
         For if the darkness and corruption leave
         A vestige of the thoughts that once I had,
Better by far you should forget and smile
         Than that you should remember and be sad.
One thought on “Pause. Reflect. Remember.

Leave a Reply

