Bye, summer…

f75ddeb6276c374d9aa133617bdc7da6

This week- the last week in August- has felt more like the end of September. We’ve had a difficult week (we lost my grandma last week, the funeral is next week) and the weather hasn’t helped to lift the familial mood.

Yesterday, Benn suggested we take a walk in the rain and I readily agreed. D could only be coaxed out by the promise of hot chocolate with marshmallows afterwards- he’d seen an episode of Show Me, Show Me in which Chris and Pui enjoyed fake hot chocolate and suspiciously rubbery looking marshmallows. On the verge of cabin fever, Benn and I agreed.

(The ominous figure in the background is actually just Benn in a cagoule.)

(The ominous figure in the background is actually just Benn in a cagoule.)

I’m mentally preparing for autumn; D is about to start nursery, I’ll be going back to work and we’ll be gearing up towards D’s third birthday in October. I don’t mind, I quite like it when the nights draw in and Strictly’s back on the TV…

I’ve already started painting my nails in ‘autumn’ colours- navy, grey and dark red- and today I dressed for a wet, windy day. It’s much more my natural habitat than summer clothes! Tights, cardis and Doc Martens boots in dark colours are more me than floaty dresses and pastel hues…

ac9a7aae4dcc20a08ec336fd5d7c1a56

I’ve also been commissioned to knit winter socks, which is obviously focusing my mind on the coming months. It’s really upped my game in terms of skills; what will work as ‘oh well, that’ll do’ for myself is sometimes not good enough when someone is paying you. So I’ve been revisiting my (ahem, quite large) library of knitting books and approaching technique in a more professional manner, which is a good thing- there’s always room to learn and I do like a challenge!

Bring it on, autumn. Bring. It. On.

Leave a Reply

