The Happiness Project #5: Making mistakes

1b202b5cf13e02e1ddc0a09fdd440122

I am my own worst critic and I always have been. But I also use that nagging little voice as an excuse- the reason I haven’t written anything on my long-neglected novel for ages; the reason I haven’t properly taught myself to sew, despite the fact I’ve expressed, time and time again (and often on this blog) the desire to learn to do so. It’s exhausting being so negative.

Last week, I went to the Savage Beauty exhibition at the V&A. Looking at McQueen’s beautiful designs, being in touching distance of some incredibly beautiful clothing and realising that McQueen had to start somewhere made me realise- I can do something if I put my mind to it. Sure, it’ll never be couture, but I can have a go.

One of the worst things, I think, is a fear of failure and making mistakes. So I’m embracing new things with a positive outlook. What’s the worst thing that can happen? No one will die if I write a duff sentence or produce a wonky hem and no one needs know if I made a mistake. I’ll just move on and learn from it.

So the tl;dr to take away from this: challenge yourself this weekend. Have a good opinion of what you could achieve (don’t start from a negative place!), but don’t go to pieces if it’s not perfect.

Keep me posted- what did you do to quiet your nagging self doubt?

6 thoughts on “The Happiness Project #5: Making mistakes

  1. Belliny says:

    I am trying to find this article by this writer or artist…it was great – all about how the famous poets and painters took ages to make their masterpieces, that they all made mistakes and DRAFTS that sucked! And we, the students of these masters, only seeing the final work, are entitled to know that they didn’t sit down and do their work in one fell swoop.

  2. Lyndsay says:

    Aaah, this is such a great post. I’m always putting myself down before I’ve even started something! If we don’t try then we will never know, and I’m sure everyone (even famous designers and celebrities etc) has made mistakes.

    I try to think of all my great acheivements when I’m feeling like that, remember I have been successful in the past, so I can do it again!

Leave a Reply

