Eco-friendly home energy saving tips*

and_image_1347238464

Initially, when I was asked to write this post, I thought “But it’s summer! I don’t need to think about the merits of energy saving!” But the more I thought about it, the more I realised that energy saving isn’t just about the energy efficiency of heating- although obviously that’s a big part.

Being eco-friendly is very important to me; I spend a lot of time trying to cultivate a garden that encourages wildlife (I even have a compost heap these days) and it makes sense that I try to carry this on inside the house. There’s also the financial benefit of keeping costs down- D is about to start nursery and childcare is NOT cheap! So saving pennies where we can will be useful.

Here are some simple (CHEAP!) tips we use, chez Pomfrett, to save energy:

1. Turn off electronics at night- we switch most electrical things off at the mains before we go to bed; being on standby wastes electricity and costs money. Plus it probably lessens the chance of the house catching fire or something.

2. Save water- This is probably the one I struggle with the most. I LOVE baths and would definitely have one over a shower any day. However, I am making a conscious effort to be better at this by limiting baths, sharing water or re-using water (such as using the water veggies have been boiled in- once cooled- to water the veggies outside.) I’m also going to install a couple of water butts outside. If you really want to save more water, you can put a brick in the cistern of your toilet so that you use less water when you flush. Even only using the water you need when you boil the kettle can make a difference.

3. Think about temperature- There are two areas where this is a ‘thing’. Firstly, and most obviously, room temperature. Benn and I indulge in a competition every autumn to see who’s the first to crack and turn the heating on. As I am a knitter, I am slightly ahead in this game- I have knitwear and socks to aid me in my quest. I am also a hardy Yorkshire woman to his Sussex softy. D is usually running around at full pelt, so barely notices the cold. When we do turn the heating on, we then battle with how hot we want the house and which rooms we need heating; there’s no point heating the spare room, for example. We also generally turn the heat down once we’re warm. There’s no need to maintain a sauna-like ambience.

Secondly, and more boringly, the temperature you wash your clothes at can be eco-friendly. By turning a 60-degree wash down by twenty, you still get a good wash AND save a bit of money. I know, it’s boring yet economical. But all those bits soon add up!

What have I missed? Tell me in the comments!

**This post was written in conjunction with Best Electric Radiators**

Leave a Reply

