The Happiness Project #2: The book you would give to everyone

tumblr_mz0jdx4alD1t7797ko1_500

Read about the idea behind the Happiness Project here.

Books are massively important to me- so important that I have a separate blog for them! But they were hugely important for me when I was depressed; by slipping into a book when I couldn’t function well in the outside world, I was able to escape- no matter how briefly- from my reality.

I read lots and many just passed me by. But some stayed with me, and they’re the ones I want to think about today: if I could give everyone I met today one book, which would it be? Probably To Kill a Mockingbird or The Book Thief. Both are about young girls learning to cope in society and both ultimately have hope as their core message (The Book Thief is the only book to make me cry more than once, too.) They are books that reminded me that not everything in the world is bleak.

Which book(s) would you give away? Why? Let me know!

Do you have suggestions for future Happiness Project prompts? Tweet me! I’m @wuthering_alice

3 thoughts on “The Happiness Project #2: The book you would give to everyone

  1. Laura says:

    I think there are a few: The Road is something I always suggest. It’s so bleak and there is no happy ending, you can’t help feel grateful for something as simple as the green grass or a blue sky.

    I also love Shantaram, about the life of an exiled criminal in India’s slums. It’s beautifully written and shows a fictional side of a very real life for millions of people.

    Both books make me reflect on the life I have here and although they’re not the most upbeat books all the time, they’re full of what makes life great.

Leave a Reply

