Post-election come down, frustration and “I’m alright, Jack”

I was once told not to blog about politics. Stuff that. I’m tired and I’m frustrated.

I’m still slightly gobsmacked at the outcome of the election, as like many I expected to wake up to a hung parliament. I’m frustrated that people have voted for a party whose leader avoided two live debates, who presided over a huge amount of debt accumulation and whose party has said they have to make £12bn cuts without stating where they’re coming from (although maternity pay is meant to be one of the benefits rumoured to be on the table for cuts.)

I saw the exit polls and my heart sank.

It’s been a campaign of scare tactics, of personal jibes and of an ‘I’m alright, Jack” mentality. This rankles with me a bit. There were a couple of Tory policies that would have benefited my family- especially with childcare- and I still chose not to vote for them, because I didn’t want to benefit at someone else’s expense. I do honestly think we’re in for five years of strikes, protest and opposition. I only hope the SNP come good on their promise to challenge the government, but of course their interest lies with Scotland.

My vote went to Caroline Lucas, the local Green MP. This was not necessarily an easy decision to make- I’m a traditional Labour voter and I would have preferred a Labour government. However, I was impressed with Caroline’s record in the last parliament; as an essentially independent MP, she was vocal, visible and able to vote on issues according to her conscience and her constituency’s interests. I’m pleased to say that she won with a huge vote swing. There’s some hope, at least!

So what now? I am determined to fight this government- on behalf of my son, my students who are about to leave school and are searching for jobs/apprenticeships or fretting about the cost of uni, all those who will be hit by austerity. Apparently Cameron is a Smiths’ fan. I want him to be The Boy With The Thorn In His Side. I’m thinking of joining a political party, of getting more involved in politics on a local level. At the moment, though, I’ll just wait and see what happens next.

3 thoughts on “Post-election come down, frustration and “I’m alright, Jack”

  1. Kel says:

    I couldn’t agree more with everything you’ve said here.
    What a disappointing time. I’m so… frustrated by so much that has been said and done
    If there is anything positive to take from it all though it’s maybe that these other frustrated people will be driven to become more involved in local politics – i know you said you might join a political party and I know a few people here that joined up yesterday (one for labour, a couple for the greens) in hopes doing something positive.
    Good luck to us all!

  2. Lauren says:

    I completely agree!
    I was glad to hear that Caroline Lucas stayed in – despite not living in Brighton, I think she’s really important to have within Parliament.
    I voted Labour myself, who got the seat here in Cardiff, but I too was expecting a hung parliament (ideally Labour and Lib Dem). I think we’re all in for a tough 4 years, in all honesty.

Leave a Reply

