What I wear on my face when I leave the house

IMG_20150411_190227

A couple of weeks ago, I tweeted that I went makeup shopping- and then realised that, far from being adventurous, I’d bought the same things I always do. Since having D, I’ve found my makeup has to be to be quick, easy to apply and last all day. I don’t have much  time to get ready and I need stuff that I know will suit me. So, what do I wear?

Primer: L’Oreal Mattifying Primer (£5.99)– I picked this up in Boots, but I can’t find it anywhere online. Unlike a lot of people who use makeup, I quite like silicone-y products. I like that they smooth out and stop shininess. My foundation does seem to last longer and I’m definitely a fan.

Foundation: Maybelline Dream Flawless Nude (£5.99)– This is one of my newer finds; I love this. It’s super light and easy to blend. I like the little dropper applicator and kind of fingerpaint the stuff on my face and then blend like mad. Don’t do that at home, though. I’m a professional.

Concealer: Rimmel Wake Me Up Concealer (£5.49)– There’s not a lot I can say about this that hasn’t been said before, but I can say that it’s a godsend for hiding dark under eye circles! Especially useful when D has had a tantrum at 3am because I won’t read Highway Rat.

Powder- Max Factor Creme Puff (£5.99)– I love the old fashioned smell of this (and so does D; I had to replace my last one after I discovered him licking the old one. As you do.) I use it over the foundation as a mattifier, but also on days when I don’t want to wear much makeup but I want to look a bit more put together, I just wear a light dusting.

i-makeup-revolution-salvation-palette-what-have-you-been-waiting-for-paleta-cieni-do-powiek-18-odcieni

Image: Makeup Revolution

Eye palette- Makeup Revolution in What You Waiting For? (£6.00)– I have the Hard Day palette from Makeup Revolution, but I tend to use What You Waiting For? more. I generally wear the mattes more, but I like that this palette has a range of colours- it goes from summery golds to more autumnal plum. I’ve repurchased this palette twice and I think it’s a permanent member of my makeup bag.

Highlighter- Revlon Highlighting Palette (£8.99)– I first saw this when it won a Grazia beauty award. As I’m pale to the point of ridiculousness, I have it in the Rose Gold, rather than the Bronze Glow. I don’t wear it everyday, but it’s brilliant at making my skin look alive and polished. I sweep it across my cheeks and nose with a big old brush and it doesn’t look like I’m channelling Bette Davis in Whatever Happened To Baby Jane?

psycho

Not what I’m going for.

Blusher- Bourjois Creme Blusher (£7.99) This is perfect; swipe and go.

Eyeliner- Makeup Revolution Awesome Eyeliner Felt and Kohl (£3.50)– I’ve already written about (and raved about) this eyeliner before and I stand by my love of it. I stock up on it whenever I make an order and nothing else has really come close to usurping it in my affections.

Mascara- Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara (£7.99)– Regular readers will know of my fickleness when it comes to mascara. This is my current mascara squeeze and.. I like it. The brush is fine, the coverage is fine and all is well.

Audrey-Hepburn_0

Brows- L’Oreal Brow Artist (£5.49)– I have always wanted Audrey Hepburn’s eyebrows. I can’t have them, but I do have this awesome pencil. It’s a start- and less fiddly than an eyebrow palette.

Lipstick- L’Oreal Color Riche Julianne’s Nude (£6.99)– Another goddess is Julianne Moore and I bought this and its red counterpart when they came out. I love, love, love this lipstick. It’s long lasting, smells like Parma Violets and lasts well with minimal drying. It just helps me feel ‘together’ and finished.

With the exception of the primer/foundation, this is how it all combines on my actual face:mejuly2014.jog

One thought on “What I wear on my face when I leave the house

  1. Jenny G says:

    I think you look very Audrey Hepburnesk! Love the Bourjois Cream blush and the Maybelline Lash Sensational – everything else I now want to try (even though I don’t need a thing) – especially the brow pencil and foundation and loving the lipstick – must try one of the L’Oreal nudes, I expect it would be Eva for myself! x

Leave a Reply

