Harper Lee and the excitement for her ‘new’ novel

Image: HuffPo

Image: HuffPo

I am so, so excited that Harper Lee’s ‘lost’ novel has been found and will be published later this year. Quite simply, ‘To Kill A Mockingbird’ is the reason I’m a teacher- but I’ve never taught it! I’ve shown pupils the film (often tying it in with the study of persecution in ‘The Merchant of Venice’, another favourite of mine) but I must make it a resolution to teach the novel soon.

I adore ‘To Kill A Mockingbird’ so, so much. Scout is such a perfect protagonist- innocent yet whip smart and I love her. So it’ll be interesting to see how she presents in the new novel- a sequel of sorts, but written before ‘Mockingbird’.

So why is everyone so excited about this? Well, at a time when the world is a scary and uncertain place, Lee’s novel is important. We’re in a world where certain people want us to see society as an ‘us and them’ and the simple message of Scout and her father is still important:

“I think there’s just one kind of folks. Folks.”

Image: Telegraph

Image: Telegraph

I will totally be buying it. And re-reading ‘To Kill A Mockingbird’. And re-watching the film (Gregory Peck as Atticus is pretty much cinematic perfection in my eyes.)

Is anyone else as excited as me?

2 thoughts on “Harper Lee and the excitement for her ‘new’ novel

Leave a Reply

