Books 2015: A Vision of Fire- Gillian Anderson with Jeff Rovin

A Vision of Fire (Jan)

I’ve been a fangirl of Gillian Anderson’s since I was 12, so OF COURSE I bought her novel, even though it’s sci-fi and I don’t usually like reading that as a genre. Gillian Anderson- busy with her work as an actress, obv- has teamed up with sci-fi veteran Rovin and come up with a story of conspiracy, reincarnation, apocalypse and a doctor heroine who has a male, will-they-won’t-they sidekick. Sounds a bit familiar, non?

This is more like the X-Files and what I would have expected from someone who is arguably most famous for her role as Scully. Indeed, the character of Dr Caitlin O’Hara, a single mother psychologist, shares many traits with Dana Scully. She’s cool, calm and professional.Unlike Scully, she’s open to the possibility of an otherworldly reason for the mysterious affliction suffered by three teenagers scattered across the globe; she finds a connection that would make Scully’s eyebrows disappear into her hairline.

1388391388107

The novel has been slated by critics, but I enjoyed it. It was a bit confusing at times, but it was a fairly easy read and the narrative was well paced. I quite happily suspended my disbelief and was content to mentally imagine it as an episode of The X-Files, which was an excellent way to spend my free time. I preferred it to Holy Cow and I will read the next installment of the series (which is called the ‘Earthend Saga’, so we can guess it’s probably not going to be all hearts and flowers, right?)

3 thoughts on “Books 2015: A Vision of Fire- Gillian Anderson with Jeff Rovin

  1. Alice says:

    I had no idea the critics hated this novel, I loved it. Sure, it wasn’t the best book ever, but it was damn entertaining. I want the next one already.

    Definitely agree it topped Holy Cow.

Leave a Reply

