Oh, hai 2015

Do you have any rituals you do on New Year’s Day? I take down the tree, order some new seeds for the garden and have a good tidy up. It makes me feel like I’m ushering out the old year and letting the new one in with a cheery, productive welcome. This year, I’ll be pleased to bring a new year into the house.

Let’s face it, 2014 wasn’t a great year in general, was it?

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

I mean, I started the year with such high hopes, only to have all of them dashed. So this new year, I’m keeping it simple. Rather than setting resolutions- which we all know I won’t bloody stick to anyway- I’m going to have a few ideas as to what I would like to achieve and then see whether they’re manageable or need adjusting.

Fitness

2014 was the year I started running. Although I’m not a running junkie like Benn (who does 5k in less than 17 minutes- huh), I do like being able to eat whatever I like- within reason- and not care about it. However, I DO NOT like running in the cold and dark. So I have a few tricks up my sleeve: a combination of dance, yoga and… Davina McCall. I’m going to alternate them with running so that I don’t get bored. It will be interesting to see how I manage by February… At the moment, I’m tempted by 30 Days of Yoga with Adrienne, but knowing me it’ll end up being Three and a Half Days of Yoga Over The Course of a Month. We’ll see.

celebrity-gifs-brad-pitt-workout

Crafting

I’d like to make more stuff this year- especially for me, as the bulk of the items I made in 2014 were gifts. I might even try my hands at something new. And I WILL get back on the sewing machine. Probably around the time of Sewing Bee being back on. Again.

Image: digitalspy.co.uk

Money

I’d like to save some money this year; having the kitchen ceiling fall in the other day (really) made me realise I should really have some contingency money and also, if nothing else, I’d like to offset some of the cost of Christmas or save up for a holiday or something. Or maybe just a FitBit. Let’s not aim too high.

scrooge-mcduck-make-it-rain

Blogging and writing

I’ll keep going my own merry way with the blog, although I think I’ll include more experience posts as opposed to being just review post heavy. But again, we’ll see how it all evolves.

In the meantime, HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Leave a Reply

