So, how was your Christmas?

I’m pleased to report that no one has died as a result of my cooking on Christmas Day! We had a hectic few days- my parents came down for the weekend beforehand and the day after they left, my friend Marine came to stay for Christmas itself.

As well as Christmas prep itself, we had to contend with a slightly broken toilet (the drainage man didn’t want to talk to me about what needed to be done to fix it, preferring to speak to ‘your husband… I can stick a camera down there and show him the issue.’ Obviously, my LADY BRAIN can’t deal with poo. I mean, it’s not like I deal with horrendous nappies on a daily basis, is it? Oh.) and the fact that the roof of our kitchen needs replacing and the ceiling is cracking quicker than an eggshell thrown against the face of a slimy politician. THAT work won’t be done until at least the first full week of January- and who knows when the drainage man will come back?

So, Christmas itself was lovely- D was pretty overwhelmed by all the presents, but seems very taken with the garage we bought him, a Postman Pat railway and a Cranky the Crane my brother bought him.

10427250_10152507123992267_3874759393354470778_n

I’ve known Marine since I was nine, so I knew she’d be an excellent presence when cooking my first ever roast dinner and we made the time on Christmas Eve to plan out the cooking schedule for the next day (excuse the spelling mistakes, I’d had quite a bit of M&S’ EXCELLENT mulled rose):

10882248_10152505815287267_8461822284954478988_n

I had alarms on my phone that corresponded to EACH one of those timings. The result was slightly less stress, although I do not recommend steaming sprouts and carrots (as M&S said I should do- so I totally blame them). I even had the time to take a ridiculous selfie (an elfie?) of myself wearing an elf hat provided by my aunt:

10678626_10152507477402267_5457674787188104984_n

The meal (apart from the sprouts) was lovely and the turkey was very nice, if I do say so myself. Dessert was a combination of chocolate Christmas tree cake and white chocolate and berries cheesecake and both were amazing.

I might have failed in my attempt to do the Ambassador’s Pyramid with the Ferrero Rocher though:

"Why, Ambassador, you REALLY SHOULDN'T HAVE"

“Why, Ambassador, you REALLY SHOULDN’T HAVE”

Marine, my aunt and myself attempted a variety of ways to stack them up (fuelled by champagne) and eventually conceded defeat- but not after discussing whether glue and/or blu tack were used in the original adverts.

I think it’s safe to say that Christmas Chez Pomfrett was a great success. And now I am going to hibernate with my stack of books- because quite frankly I’d like nothing more than to spend the next few months reading…

10246420_10152509495097267_4399535265960577126_n

Leave a Reply

