The Vanishing Witch- Karen Maitland

The Vanishing Witch (Nov)

I’ve been a bit AWOL with book reviews, a fact I blame on an attempt to read ‘The Second Sex’ by Simone de Beauvoir (I managed about 300 pages.) I was sent this a while back and hoped it was better than the last offering from Karen Maitland I’d read. I’ve been a fan since the excellent The Company of Liars and The Owl Killers, so I always want to like her books.

I’m happy to say that I much preferred this to The Gallows Curse! The story is set in 13th century Lincoln at the time of the Peasants’ Revolt and focuses on a wool merchant and his relationship with an enthralling widow and her children. Things start to go awry and the deaths keep piling up- who’s responsible?

A great read, which although it doesn’t quite reach the heights of my favourite Maitland novels is an enjoyable read nonetheless. If you’re a fan of historical novels with a twist of fantasy, this is right up your alley.

One thought on “The Vanishing Witch- Karen Maitland

Leave a Reply

