So you want to help fight Ebola, but don’t want to buy the Band Aid single?

If you follow me on Twitter, you’ll have noticed that I’m not terribly impressed with the Band Aid single (also, I feel old watching it. I’m 30. THIRTY IS TOO YOUNG TO FEEL OLD.) I couldn’t quite put my finger on why it bothered me so much, apart from the fact that Bono is talking about touching people. Hint: if you find Bono ambling towards you, threatening to touch you, I think a tap on the nose with a rolled up newspaper would do the trick of stopping him. You’re welcome.

It also doesn’t bother me that Youtubers are involved- which of us would not milk our fifteen minutes of fame in any way we could? It does remind me of that episode of The Apprentice a couple of weeks ago, though.

Anyway, once I read this article from The Telegraph, I knew that Bryony Gordon had hit the nail on the head for me.

Watching the news (especially Channel 4’s excellent coverage), I wish I could do SOMETHING. Rather than just whinging on social media and joking about Bono, I decided to donate directly to one of the charities involved with the care of Ebola patients: Medecins sans Frontiers/Doctors Without Borders.

Image: Agus Morales/MSF

Image: Agus Morales/MSF

The thing is, MSF have been working with Ebola patients since March- before it registered on a lot of Western radars. The charity is independent and offers medical care wherever it is needed. MSF runs projects for cholera sufferers, women in labour and other projects, alongside their Ebola project. They need money. You can read about one of the projects aiming to raise Ebola awareness here.

I have only a small portion of the internet that’s mine and a few readers (I’m certainly no Zoella!) But if I can encourage someone to maybe donate a fiver they would have spent on a drink at the work’s Christmas do, or a couple of quid saved from an offer when out shopping, I’d be eternally grateful. And maybe we’d prevent Bono from singing The Line again in a few years.

Leave a Reply

