Pretty Honest- Sali Hughes

I’m going to start with a bit of a disclaimer- I am a MASSIVE Sali Hughes fangirl and have been since she started writing her weekly column for the Guardian. It’s because of Sali that I got into lipstick and I credit her for my makeup obsession. So of course I bought her book.

Pretty Honest: The Straight-talking Beauty Companion (Oct)

What I love about this book is that it’s not a simple ‘how-to’ book; Sali talks passionately about beauty, skincare and self-esteem with wit and friendliness. I wish this book had been around when I was a teenager and when I was getting ready to get married (there are helpful chapters on both), as it’s almost like having a friend talk you through everything from hair to how to deal with pushy sales assistants.

The photos inside are chic, without being intimidating. As I read the book and looked at the pictures, I found myself nodding my head and making a mental note of things I wanted to buy or needed to change.

And don’t think that the products and brands recommended in here are super pricey, either. Sali recommends a range of brands, from the familiar ones you’d recognise to the more expensive ones you might not. I think it’s this acknowledgement that super luxury doesn’t always mean that it’s the best is why Sali is so trusted in the beauty world.

I warn you though, it’s not unusual to spend quite a long time buying flannels after reading this. Or was that just me?

 

6 thoughts on “Pretty Honest- Sali Hughes

  1. Alice says:

    I need this book in my life! Have you seen her YouTube vids on the shoots she did for the book? Mary Greenwell does her make-up, it’s really interesting.

Leave a Reply

