The Telling Error- Sophie Hannah

db2e56dbe271eeba7aeaa19e1c624da3

I appear to be one of the few people who hasn’t read much Sophie Hannah; I remember reading a collection of her short stories a few years ago, but other than that, nothing. So when I saw her new novel, The Telling Error being offered for review on Bookbridgr, I thought I’d give it a go. Unbeknownst to me, this is part of a series, but I felt able to pick up the threads and get into the scheme of things quite quickly.

The story revolves around a newspaper columnist’s murder (think a sort of Tory Charlie Brooker) and a woman, Nicki, who is, it seems, incapable of telling the truth about anything. She’s been dragged into events thanks to an online affair and she doesn’t really help herself.

Although ultimately I enjoyed the book, I found it hard to get into. I didn’t like the character of Nicki very much and it’s hard to get on with a story if you’re not really connecting with the main character, I find. Maybe that’s just me. However, I enjoyed the ‘writing’ of the murder victim and I reckon Sophie Hannah had loads of fun with that one. There’s also a rather bizarre homage to Julia Donaldson, writer of The Gruffalo, which I particularly enjoyed. Probably because I’ve got so many of her books emblazoned on my brain…

In true thriller style, I found myself caught off-guard at times and squirming when I thought a particularly minor character was the killer- and relieved when it wasn’t them. (Trust me, it would have been wrong on a rather Game of Thrones type of level…)

I will check out more of Sophie Hannah’s books, if only to see why this one has divided her fans so much.

*Sent for review

Leave a Reply

