A Tale of Two Hand Creams

handcream1.jpg

The hot weather is playing havoc with my hands; I’m trying to keep up with my various craft projects and my hands are drying out insanely quickly. I managed to use up my stockpile of free L’Occitane hand creams from Marie Claire (seriously, I had SO MANY) and decided it was time to try something new. Silly me.

First up, I bought Garnier Intensive 7 Days Soothing, which has added honey. I’ve had really good experiences with honey based skincare in the past and I thought this could be the holy grail for me: cheap, easily available and effective. On the first two counts, it does the job. It smells OK. As for effective…. well. I don’t particularly like the texture of this hand cream, as it’s heavy and makes my skin feel claggy (a nice Yorkshire word meaning sticky, gross etc.) I felt like I had to use a ton to get the moisturisation I needed. It might be better in the winter, but it’s just not effective enough for my needs.

handcreamtexture.jpg

You can see the difference in textures here; the Garnier is thicker and more solid, whereas the L’Occitane has a lighter consistency.

I then decided that my mum’s hairdresser was right that time when she said ‘buy cheap, buy twice.’ I knew I needed to go to the brand that had never let me down- L’Occitane. Yes, it’s more expensive at £8 a tube, but a little goes a long way and the quality is amazing for the price.

After what must have seemed an eternity to the bemused sales assistant as I compared all the different scents on offer (I only use the Shea Butter hand cream in winter; its thicker consistency is brilliant for cold, chapped hands), I settled on the new Frisson de Verveine gel based hand cream. It’s light and has a fantastic zingy scent which is perfect for summer. The cream itself melts into skin and leaves it feeling fresh and clean. Well worth the extra money in my book!

One thought on “A Tale of Two Hand Creams

Leave a Reply

