Our third wedding anniversary!

Sometimes, time flies- and in the case of being married, it has for me (I’m not so sure about the very patient, long-suffering Benn, mind.) Although we’ll have been together nine years in December, we have been married three years today.

mum63My mum took this photo (we didn’t have a professional photographer- the whole wedding was done for less than £2000) and I love it. I love the quirky angle and the fact that my hair is a bit mad. My wedding dress was from Get Cutie; my friend Jan made me the red wrap you can just see on my shoulders and another friend, Annie, made me a bag the same fabric as my dress. My shoes were ruby slippers.

250840_10150199330952267_603387266_7648666_7418069_n

I love these shoes, but I cannot for the life of me walk in anything higher than a ballet pump. My cousin’s then-toddler daughter spent a lot of time wearing them at the reception and I wandered around barefoot. It was a fair swap!

I didn’t have bridesmaids, but I did ask my sister to read a poem. I chose Love’s Philosophy by Shelley and managed to find a 1908 edition of his poetry to give her as a gift. I thought I’d end by leaving the poem here:

The fountains mingle with the river,
And the rivers with the ocean;
The winds of heaven mix forever
With a sweet emotion;
Nothing in the world is single;
All things by a law divine
In another’s being mingle–
Why not I with thine?

See, the mountains kiss high heaven,
And the waves clasp one another;
No sister flower could be forgiven
If it disdained its brother;
And the sunlight clasps the earth,
And the moonbeams kiss the sea;–
What are all these kissings worth,
If thou kiss not me?

 

4 thoughts on “Our third wedding anniversary!

Leave a Reply

