I’ve started Couch to 5K!

I am an exercise-phobe. I once told my doctor that I was a ‘reader, not an exerciser’, but I felt I needed to step up my game a little. I can easily walk 5K (I walk loads, especially at the moment, while the weather is fine- also whilst pushing a large toddler up and down hills.)

So yesterday I downloaded the Week 1 podcast from the NHS Live Well site– my friend Carolina had recommended it, so I figured it would be good. The music isn’t too bad and Laura, the narrator/enabler/cheerleader is encouraging without being patronising. I managed the first week (12 minutes walking, 8 minutes running) quite comfortably.

audience_applause

 

I’m planning on running again on Wednesday and Friday (to sort of run alongside my current work schedule). I can’t say that yesterday I felt anything massive or spiritual, but it was nice to know that I’d done something physical before the day had started.

So why am I telling you this? Because a) if I put it here, I have more chance of actually doing the whole thing and b) I wasn’t sure what else to write about today!

I need to sort out some proper running gear though- not sure a black Buffy the Vampire Slayer t-shirt is the highpoint of running chic.

Have you done couch to 5K? Any advice?

2 thoughts on “I’ve started Couch to 5K!

  1. Hannah Ackroyd says:

    Ooh good luck! I have to admit that I started to couch to 5k but I never finished it! I did notice significant improvements though and the steps up each week were very manageable! I’m going to get back to it once my life is no longer controlled by university!

  2. themanyknitsofnadine says:

    Good luck with it, I started just before I got pregnant with Crafty Toddler. I think I got to week 5 before I stopped but saw real improvements. I only stopped then because I found out I was pregnant and couldn’t cope with morning sickness and running. I also created my own mix tape for it as I was seriously not a fan of the music that it came with.

Leave a Reply

