L’Oreal Miss Manga vs. Rimmel Scandaleyes Rockin’ Curves

Ding ding ding. There has been quite a flurry of activity in the mascara world of late and I’ve been persuaded to part with my money for two of the newest: Miss Manga and Scandaleyes Rockin’ Curves. I thought I’d do a showdown between the two- if you’re unfamiliar with my quest to find the perfect mascara, you can read up on it here.

mascarawars.jpg

Now. Are you sitting comfortably? Then I’ll begin.

Let’s start with price point. Miss Manga is £2 more expensive than Rockin’ Curves, but then it is in a shiner case, I guess. I would be tempted by the violet edition of Miss Manga for blue eyes to pop (violet mascara can be quite expensive for a decent one), but otherwise I’m happiest with Rockin’ Curves at £6.99.

Secondly- brush shape. Now, those of you who have been on this journey with me (cue X-Factor type instrumental of Adele cover here) know how much I hate stupid brushes. I’ve not been kind to a Rimmel mascara in the past because it had a brush determined to poke me in the eye. You’d expect me, therefore, to prefer Miss Manga, right? Wrong. I found that that brush was very clumpy and clumsy, whereas the weird twist in Rockin’ Curves meant that all of my eyelashes were well coated- without any fancy manoeuvring from me.

Thirdly: formula. I just don’t like the Miss Manga formula. I found it clumpy and it made my eyes look spidery after more than a couple of gentle strokes. After a few uses, the brush looks unsightly and gloopy. Also, it wasn’t particularly waterproof. Rockin’ Curves, on the other hand, withstood a downpour last week and I really like the formula; I found it easy to build up and it lasted all of a very long day without any flaking. Brilliant. This will definitely have a place in my makeup bag in future!

However, don’t be sad at the fate of my tube of Miss Manga. D has discovered that it makes a perfect passenger for pushing around in one of his little cars.

Have you tried either of these? Am I totally wrong? Let me know!

 

Leave a Reply

