Oh, hi Spring!

The crocuses are up, the daffodils are showing themselves (although, as I recently admitted on Twitter, they are my least favourite flower. Apart from those teeny ones. I like those…) and the sun decided to come out today. It is lovely in Brighton and we took D to a soft play centre which also happens to be in a garden centre. While Benn’s mum watched D, we moseyed round- me enthusiastically choosing seeds and Benn wandering around with the bemused air of a teenage boy accompanying his first proper girlfriend round Oxford Street Topshop.

Here is a cute puppy in a garden in spring. It has nothing really to do with this post. Image: tailsofhawaii.com

Here is a cute puppy in a garden in spring. It has nothing really to do with this post.
Image: tailsofhawaii.com

The thing is, after months of rain and no prospect of snow, I have decided to fully embrace spring. After all, it is nearly my birthday (which happens in the early days of the season) and also we’re in limbo with the house buying at the moment. I need to do something to cheer me up. So, plant stuff it is.

I’m also looking for new spring clothes and shoes- I have my eye on a pair of Lotta from Stockholm sandals, as my dearly beloved Birkenstocks finally gave up the ghost last year. So of course- new sandals mean new skirts, right?!

Image: Lotta from Stockholm

Image: Lotta from Stockholm

I’m also switching my home scents around; I’ve gone from heavy, spicy and sweet winter-y scents to bright, floral spring scents. I’ve been buying loads of No Mess wax melts from Busy Bee Candles and I’m currently melting Violet and Lime, which makes the house smell of Parma Violets. I also have Peony (which I had as one of my wedding flowers.) I’ll do a full review of my favourites from Busy Bee soon.

How are you preparing for spring?

 

One thought on “Oh, hi Spring!

Leave a Reply

