Knitting is my therapy

Recently, I’ve found myself retreating more and more into myself and wanting to be at home. The thought of going out has often been a bit grim, although I do force myself out for D’s sake and the exercise and fresh air. However, at the end of the day, when D’s in bed and I can relax, I find myself itching to get my knitting out.

The Artist's Wife Knitting by William James Glackens Image: WikiPaintings

The Artist’s Wife Knitting by William James Glackens
Image: WikiPaintings

In times of chaos, stress and general ‘meh’, I find that knitting really helps me focus and calm myself; the repetition, concentration and flowing movements are hypnotic to me. There really is nothing better than having a good drama on TV (although if it’s a foreign one on BBC4, I need to make the project simple!), a cup of tea and being curled up on the sofa. At the moment, I’m in a lace phase, but I’m picking patterns that I can pick up quickly.

Little Girl Knitting by Albert Anker Image: WikiPaintings

Little Girl Knitting by Albert Anker
Image: WikiPaintings

I’ve written before how knitting has helped me through bouts of depression; at the moment, it’s an enjoyable hobby, rather than a lifeline- but I’m always grateful for the fact that I have something I know can make me feel better about the world. I’m not a control freak, but I choose what I make, what I make it from and, if anything goes wrong, it’s not the end of the world. Also, I actually use some of the maths I learnt at school!

What makes you feel better about the world after a stressy day?

Leave a Reply

