Guest Post: My Holiday Reading List

Hello to Steph’s wonderful readers! My name is Sunae and I’m filling in on Steph’s blog today while she takes a well deserved little Christmas break. I’m an Aussie blogger and an avid reader so I thought it might be nice to show you all the books I have lined up to entertain me throughout my Summer Uni break. I’m not really supposed to buy books (trying to save to move out of home and buy a car and whatnot) so let’s just call this little haul which popped through my mailbox recently my little Christmas present to myself!

1. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society by Mary Anne Shafter and Annie Barrows
2. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
3. Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend by Matthew Green
4. Wonder by R.J. Palacio
5. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green
All of these books have been on my “must read” list for such a very long time! Studying Literature at uni means that I don’t really get a lot of time to read books of my own choosing throughout the semester, so by the time the holidays roll ’round, I have a list three figures long of books I want to read! I’ve been on holidays for a few weeks now and have already gotten through The Hunger Games trilogy and The Curious Incident of the Dog In the Night Time by Mark Haddon which I would definitely recommend, and I’m planning on finishing a memoir called A Million Little Pieces by James Frey and also reading The Help before I get started on this little pile, but I’m sure that won’t take me long!
Have you read any of these books? What did you think of them? I’m a little apprehensive about The Fault In Our Stars – I mean, I know a lot of people really love it but I just have this weird gut feeling I’m not going to find it realistic or that I might find it discomforting to read. I”d love to hear what books you have lined up for your Christmas break if you’re lucky enough to get one!
One thought on “Guest Post: My Holiday Reading List

  1. listorian says:

    I went on a little book-buying spree in Scarborough with Steph (my granddaughter) and I bought “The Bell Jar” by Sylvia Plath (to reread); Jennifer Kloester’s biography of Georgette Heyer – the historical novelist; and Nick Robinson’s “Live from Downing Street. The Inside Story of Politics, Power and the Media”. I am also reading F. Scott Fitzgerald’s “Tender is the Night”. So – quite an eclectic literary feast to kick off 2014.

Leave a Reply

