Books 2013: December

By the time of writing this post (about a week ago), I’d read 51 books- not bad! Last year I managed the grand total of 43, which included the whole of Breakfast at Tiffany’s while I was in the early stages of labour.

My list this year has been very history heavy, mostly Roman and Victorian. I’ve also read far more fiction this year, which is unusual.

Anyway, here’s a round up of this month’s books. I’m planning on starting Pillars of the Earth soon, so there might not be another round up until February 2014!

A Light-Hearted Look at Murder- Mark Watson (my copy)

f8743c9a999ea1dabd57e28f6fb732ccThis is the second Mark Watson novel I’ve read and when I was reading it, all I could think was that he sort of writes in a similar style to Marian Keyes! I guess it’s the split narrative and easy to read style. This novel tells the two stories of a bored office working and her prisoner penpal- who happens to be a German, ex-Hitler impersonator… Lots of weirdness to this, but if you like Mark Watson’s standup, you’ll enjoy this.

Standing in Another Man’s Grave- Ian Rankin (my copy)

c0528ccdd4188d460e18f3d7f0c182aa

 

I bought this for Benn last Christmas; both of us are Rebus fans (when we visited Edinburgh a few years back, we went on a mini-Rebus tour. Shut up.) Benn really likes this kind of novel and I’ve always enjoyed Ian Rankin’s work. However, I feel that this is one of the weaker Rebus novels; the character has lost his bite a bit. Benn tells me there’s another novel that came out this year. No doubt we’ll both read that and compare it to this!

Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life- Bryan Lee O’Malley (work library)

c406b27882c3c6536255992fa8efc77f

 

I’ve been teaching students about graphic novels this term and as a treat, I’ve been showing them Scott Pilgrim vs The World. Then I realised that I had never read the books, so decided to remedy this. So far, I can confirm that the film is very, very close its source material.

Cover Her Face- PD James (my own copy)

d32486d2c677fd77141bd5ea98994c49I like the very English-ness of PD James’ novels and this one didn’t disappoint. A great bit of escapism (and I couldn’t help thinking that Matthew Macfadyen would make an excellent Inspector Dalgleish.)

The Yard- Alex Grecian (my own copy)

993cb51014837539aede3a75712a5b39

 

This is very much in the same mould as Ripper Street (the cancellation of which has disappointed us chez Pomfrett) and hugely enjoyable. I couldn’t help seeing the characters from the TV programme in the characters here, but I don’t necessarily think that’s a bad thing. The attention to detail is brilliant and, even if some of the characters are a bit unbelievable at points, I loved every page of this. I’m very pleased to have discovered that a sequel has just been published!

 

 

One thought on “Books 2013: December

Leave a Reply

