Staying De-Stressed… my tips

My word, has work been stressful recently. I can’t even really begin to sum up why, but I’ve been feeling the pressure on the three days I work, so I dread to think how my full-time counterparts have been feeling. This week, I will have lots of marking to do if I don’t want to come home on Friday without a massive pile of essays.

I know that this time of year is stressful and I thought I would share some of my coping strategies for when I’m super-stressed. Please feel free to add your own suggestions in the comments.

1. Knitting

Image: BBC

Image: BBC

When you’re learning, knitting can be the most stressful thing in the world. But now I’ve been doing it for years, I knit so I don’t kill people. I’m partial to a bit of lace knitting when I’m stressed. I like that I can channel my negativity into something complex and beautiful. I’m hoping to work my way through a book of shawl patterns over 2014, so maybe I’ll post some pictures as I go.

2. Pampering

Image: Guardian

Image: Guardian

I am a bath girl through and through. I will take a bath over a shower any day of the week (in fact, sometimes I do and then I have to resort to dry shampoo…) At the moment, I’m loving bath oils- I recently won some Aromatherapy Associates minis from Sandra of The Black Pearl Blog. They’re gorgeous, but expensive! I also like to read when in the bath- sometimes it’s the only chance I get!

3. Sleep

Image: Wikipedia

Image: Wikipedia

Ah, sleep, how I love thee. I don’t always get as much as I would like (but luckily I can pretty much fall asleep wherever I am at any time of day, so…) I will admit to often pretending I can’t hear D in the night so that Benn will go and deal with him. However, D’s sleep patterns are getting more regular, slowly. I find that my mind still whirs and considers stupid things. To this end, I have begun pairing Seascape’s new  Soothe Sleep Oil * and their Soothe Body Butter* before I go to bed. The essential oils in both products means that I’ve been sleeping incredibly well, despite high stress levels. (I also use the body lotion from Les Petits range to help D get a good night’s sleep!)

Let me know how you de-stress!

*PR sample

 

One thought on “Staying De-Stressed… my tips

  1. Klina says:

    When I’m stressed I like to read, anything from the Discworld series does the trick usually. Watching a favourite film or series or something with David Attenborough, I find his voice really soothing and pretty pictures of nature are always nice. Listening to music with headphones on. And at this time of year I’ll often just sit and stare at the christmas tree for a while.

Leave a Reply

