Stupidly easy to make tea bread!

I’m in a baking mood at the moment and I was inspired by Kellie from Big Fashionista when she recently tweeted a link to this tea bread recipe. I’d been interested in having a go since GBBO had a tea bread challenge a few weeks ago and felt that this was a nice, easy recipe to get started with. Also, I got to use my rather spiffing new scales, which came courtesy of Moderna Housewares. It also comes in a box with a cheery lady on the front, which is always rather heartwarming:

1377959_10151651202427267_936442944_n

Actually, I jest, but our set of scales was old and unreliable and I was offered the chance to try these at just the right time. Loved them- they’re quite chic, but not expensive enough for me to have a panic about breaking them/the cat sitting on them. I also really like the timer feature on this; I’m rubbish at keeping time and often end up with crispy* bakes. The only thing that is a bit annoying is the loud beeping when setting the timer. But that’s a minor point. It does its job and, for about a tenner, you can’t go wrong.

Anyway, back to the bake: it’s just four ingredients. Tea (I used Whittard’s Mumbai Chai, as it’s got a good blend of spices), raisins, flour and caster sugar. Mix it up, put it in the oven and BOOM:

1391645_10151660119087267_624866634_n (1)

This is loaf 1 just out of the oven. Benn even gave it the thumbs up, saying that when it was warm it reminded him of Christmas pudding. You could play around with different varieties of tea for a different flavour. Of course, this one had a mild spicy flavour and the raisins were juicy where they’d picked up the tea.

As you can guess, this didn’t last long at all. In fact, I made a second batch less than 24 hours later, but this time played around with the ingredients a little: instead of just using 150g caster sugar, I used 50/50 caster and brown sugar. I brewed the tea a little stronger and added some ginger and cinnamon to the mix. The result was a spicier, less sweet loaf (the raisins carried much of the sweetness) but that was no less delicious.

The beauty of this recipe is the simplicity and the potential for adaptation. It’s properly brilliant.

*burnt

2 thoughts on “Stupidly easy to make tea bread!

Leave a Reply

