‘Tis the season… for Edgar Allan Poe

File:Edgar Allan Poe 2 retouched and transparent bg.png

Image: Wikipedia

I joked recently that most of my life references come from watching hours of The Simpsons; in Poe’s case, this is true. I only know The Raven and The Tell-Tale Heart because they were featured on the programme. I also have a vague recollection of reading The Black Cat as a teenager (it’s really grisly). Anyway, recently, Poe has been creeping into my life: a friend sent me a letter on Poe notepaper, Benn and I watched The Raven (which stars John Cusack as Poe- it’s a brilliant, slightly daft film. I highly recommend it!) and then I stumbled upon a documentary that dealt with his troubled relationships with women. I was hooked. I do love reading the work and biographies of damaged souls.

1377617_10151655062202267_867085505_n

As the nights draw in and Halloween moves ever closer, Poe’s tales seem to appeal more and more. That such a troubled person could write such visceral and haunting tales is fitting. So I decided to get the collected works out of the library and I am on the hunt for a great biography of him; let me know if you can recommend one!

Have you read Poe? Where should I start? I’ll let you know how I get on…

2 thoughts on “‘Tis the season… for Edgar Allan Poe

  1. Tereza says:

    My absolutely favourite Poe stories are Berenice & Eleanor. I always think it’s a bit disturbing that I like them, but oh wells – they are so creepily good! x

Leave a Reply

