Ten years on…

leedsfest2002

Recently, my friend from college, Bee sent this picture of me and our friend Kerry to me on Twitter. After the initial ‘Oh my god, what was I wearing?!’, it made me think about how much I’ve changed since the photo was taken. It was taken at the Leeds Festival of 2002 (looking at the line up it reminded me of waiting over two hours to see Guns ‘n’ Roses because my then boyfriend was desperate to see them, despite Axl Rose being a bad tempered bugger and also that I saw Pulp give one of the best performances I’ve ever seen.)

The photo would have been taken a few weeks before I started uni. Here are some things that have changed since this photo was taken:

  • I’m totally not in the job I would have expected to be in at this point.
  • My hair is no longer that red, although I sometimes wish I had a job where I could dye it that colour.
  • I (hope) I dress better.
  • I broke up with that boyfriend, went through a self destructive phase for a while, but discovered The Smiths, so it wasn’t all bad.
  • I would never had believed you if you’d have said that ten years later I’d have been married with a child on the way. I was VERY anti-babies.
  • I have more self confidence, although not a huge amount. Must try harder.
  • At 21, I made the best decision of my life- to move to Brighton. I’ve been here ever since.

Things that I would have thought would happen, but didn’t:

  • I haven’t travelled half as much as I would have expected.
  • I never was brave enough to move to London.
  • I don’t have a dog.
  • I’m not a journalist.

As I’m turning 30 next year, I do think about how life has changed and how it will continue to change. I look at D and marvel at how he has his whole life ahead of him and I wonder what he will become. And then I remember that I am still young (ish) and have plenty of opportunity to do some of the things I’d like to. It’s interesting to look back though- and cringe at my teenage love of huge corduroy flares and velvet smoking jackets.

Leave a Reply

