Youngblood Mineral Radiance Creme to Powder Foundation

I am a massive fan of compact foundations and have been looking for a new foundation for a while. Recently, my usual powder foundation has been slightly.. lacking. In a serendipitous moment, Skin Rejuve Direct asked me if I’d like to try a foundation designed for sensitive skin like mine. I’m not ashamed to admit that I had never heard of Youngblood Mineral Cosmetics, but I was happy to give it a go. I was sent the Mineral Radiance Creme to Powder Foundation (£41 for 7g.) As a pale, freckly redhead, I thought the Barely Beige would suit me best. (For reference, in MAC shades I am NW20, which I always think makes me sound like a London landmark.) Apparently the brand was set up after the owner worked in plastic surgery clinics and saw that women with sensitive skin needed their own range of cosmetics.

20130814_154148

The packaging is really, really sturdy- much more so than the MAC compacts. I have dropped this and it has come out unscathed. There’s a good-sized mirror and sponge under the foundation itself.


20130814_154130

I hope you don’t mind that the photo shows use- I never mind actually, as I think it shows that the person reviewing it has been using it on a regular basis! Anyway, you can see that the texture is a well compressed creme base. Unlike other creme to powder foundations I’ve tried, this one goes on like a dream. I apply it with the sponge and then use a beauty blender to ensure good, even coverage.

I like to show my freckles when I’m wearing makeup and what I really like about this is that it’s totally blend-able and build-able. Also, something that is totally important to me as a sensitive skin owner and eczema sufferer was that this foundation allowed my skin to BREATHE. I’ve worn this foundation on very hot days and my face has been comfortable. Just brilliant.

Yes, £41 is expensive, but I think this will last and, if you have issues with other (non-powder) foundations, this one could be the one for you.

*PR sample

Leave a Reply

