My name is Steph and I’m a geek

I’ve seen lots of people wearing t-shirts proudly proclaiming they’re a ‘geek’ or a ‘nerd’, which is cool, but I reckon they couldn’t tell you anything about season 5 of Buffy or the Cigarette Smoking Man’s backstory and dream of being a modern American novelist.

I am a geek and have been since I was a kid. I am married to a non-geek who thinks I am a bit odd on occasion. My sister is also a geek (probably moreso than me.)

My geeky obsessions:

Buffy is one that materialised a few years back when I borrowed my sister’s boxset. After the cat caught a mouse and damaged one of the covers (long story, but I got quite the shock at 6am one work day), I ended up buying my sister a replacement and keeping the originals myself. I love Buffy. Strong, funny but with flaws, she’s one of the better female role models in modern pop culture.

Image: Buffy Wiki

Image: Buffy Wiki

The X-Files is my deepest and longest running favourite. I’ve written about it before and I tweet quite a lot about it. I’m currently working my way through the entire oeuvre (including films) and I’m about halfway through season seven. Which is not the best season by a long chalk. When I was 12, Scully was my heroine and Gillian Anderson continues to be someone I look up to.

Image: Wikipedia

Image: Wikipedia

Doctor Who is another favourite, although I don’t know it as well as the other two programmes. I have a fondness for David Tennant’s Doctor and my favourite companion thus far is Donna- I liked the fact that she didn’t fancy the doctor AT ALL. I’m massively chuffed about Peter Capaldi being named as the new Doctor. It’ll be interesting to see how that progresses (although, alas, I doubt it’ll be Malcolm Tucker in the TARDIS.

Image: Forbidden Planet

Image: Forbidden Planet

I’m also a massive fan of Batman- I designed a scheme of work for GCSE media students looking at how gender stereotypes and representations are used in three films and a study of graphic novel forms and conventions. I love rubbish films based on computer games (although I don’t play much these days, I do still hanker back for the golden age of Street Fighter II on the SNES!)

Anyway, I heard this great song and the video is a bit of a gesture at those geek boys who say girls can’t be ‘real’ geeks. It inspired this post. Tell me how you’re geeky.

One thought on “My name is Steph and I’m a geek

Leave a Reply

