The hardest challenge I may EVER FACE

I’ve been inspired by Helen (@Gingersquirrel) to do something ridiculous. It puts fear into my heart.

Image: The Guardian

Image: The Guardian

Something that’s going to be harder than a 45 hour labour that produced a 9lb baby.

Image: Wikipedia

Image: Wikipedia

Something that will take all my energy and resolve- and we all know how weak my willpower is.

Image: IMDB

Image: IMDB

From tomorrow, I am putting myself on a three month book buying ban. From August 1st to November 1st (which will be two days after D’s first birthday, so easy to remember!), I will not be allowed to exchange any money for a book. This includes knitting/crafty books. Those who know me know how hard this will be, Helen’s version is here.

I’ve slightly changed the rules to suit me- I probably won’t do a re-read for example. However, I will be allowed to accept books lent/given to me by friends, any that are sent to me for review (hello, publishers!) and books from the library. I’m hoping that this will spur me into reading some of the many, many books on my shelves.

Here is a tiny fraction of the books I currently own, either in tangible or Kindle form:

All images: Waterstones

All images: Waterstones

Let me know if you’ve read any of these, or any books you recommend I borrow from the library. I will, of course, let you know my progress in the monthly books round up. I only hope the next three months isn’t very painful….

9 thoughts on “The hardest challenge I may EVER FACE

  1. TheBigForest says:

    Woo that’s brave. Ive been picking books off the shelf that I haven’t read and either sitting down and reading them or if they really are awful giving them to charity as I will never read them. Very theraputic! Good luck with the challenge.

  2. Lauren says:

    Gone Girl is not as good as it has been hyped up to be, but worth a read, you’ll fly through it I expect. You should read ‘life after life’ by Kate Atkinson. Its brilliant, as is all her work. I can email you in in Kindle form should you wish, a virtual lend, if you will 😉

  3. listorian says:

    Stephanie – I have just cleared a lot of my books from my bookshelf – Rachel is bringing them down with her – check them out before they go to the local charity shop.

  4. Mary Jane says:

    Hey,

    I’d really recommend ‘We need new names’ by NoViolet Bulawayo 🙂 It’s on the Man Booker long list and I really enjoyed it. Otherwise Rebecca is amazing. !

Leave a Reply

