52 Weeks/52 Polishes: Week #9 Ciate Nail Paint in Showgirl

I love this colour, but I’ve had a bit of a saga with it! Also, I cannot for the *life* of me photograph this colour to do it justice. So I resorted to the official photo to give you a rest from my pasty digits.

Image: Ciate

Image: Ciate

It’s an insanely girly, shimmery fuchsia pink that I just ADORE. Also, it has that amazing Ciate formula that I love- smooth to apply and not streaky at all. Gorgeous.

However, I tried this over a few days with two different basecoats (I lost my Bonder, sob.) When I used this with Nails Inc. A+E basecoat, I didn’t even get 24 hours wear out of it before chipping. It was so bad, I had to take the polish off after just over a day. Normally, I try and prolong the wear as much as I can so that I can give you an honest opinion- but it was so bad that I just couldn’t face it!

When I tried it with the Bonder, I did get more wear out of it: by a day. I don’t know if it’s the heat or what, but again I had massive chipping issues. It has fared better on my toenails though, for some bizarre reason. However, this polish is so pretty I won’t be chucking it on my ‘never wear again’ pile. It’s just heavenly to look at. I’ll just have to accept it’s a one-night-only kind of polish…

For consistency’s sake, this week’s round up is based on the period when I wore the ORLY Bonder basecoat.

Day applied: Friday

Day of first chip: Saturday

Day of removal: Monday

 

2 thoughts on “52 Weeks/52 Polishes: Week #9 Ciate Nail Paint in Showgirl

Leave a Reply

