Random post: My brooch collection!

I’m not a massive jewellery wearer; I wear my wedding and engagement rings on one hand, a necklace with a couple of small silver pendants on them that are related to my wedding (although I would LOVE a locket…) and a silver and turquoise ring on my other hand. I like my jewellery to be fairly simple. But all bets are off when it comes to brooches!

20130614_153139

 

I am very much of the ‘cardigan with a brooch’ camp and these are a collection I’ve built up over the last couple of years or so. Notable by their absence are brooches of some of my favourite things: tea, flamingoes (or birds in general) and foxes.

HOWEVER, let me talk you through them all:

20130614_153158

These are my ‘local’ brooches; the Alice one was a birthday present from my aunt a couple of years ago. I bought the hare (which you can buy from here) and the cat from sellers at Craftaganza. The little stamp brooch, also a hare, was made by my friend Lisa. I sold these brooches for her at craft fairs, but kept this one for myself!

20130614_153258

These three were a custom order from Etsy a few years back, when they still had the Alchemy feature. The Marie Antoinette one is probably the one I wear the most out of all my brooches. The one in the middle is a painting by Dante Gabriel Rossetti and the third one is, of course, Alice with her flamingo croquet bat. I have a great fondness for Tenniel’s original illustrations.

20130614_153312

These are my two most recent acquisitions, both from this seller on eBay. I’ve mentioned the magpie brooch before. Although you can’t see it very well in the picture, the brooch on the top is a ‘Votes for Women’ poster. I bought it to wear on the centenary of Emily Davison’s death and have worn it since. These two are fast becoming favourites.

20130614_153243

These three are random acquisitions; the turquoise-y one was bought from a seller at a flea market in Covent Garden years ago (and I suspect I was slightly robbed over the price.) The blue one is an Accessorize brooch I bought a couple of years ago. The most interesting one, though, is the micro-mosaic. I have no idea how old it is, or where it’s from. I’ve had it years and years and bought it off eBay. It’s one of those things that could be twenty or a hundred years old, although I suspect it’s probably from the 50s or 60s…

20130614_153227

I first caught the brooch collecting bug from my mum; these were hers and she gave them to me a while back. Again, I have no idea where these are from, but they’re very pretty!

I’m always on the lookout for brooches to add to my collection. Do you have any favourites?

7 thoughts on “Random post: My brooch collection!

  1. Hannah Ackroyd says:

    Ooh I’m just like you! I hardly ever wear any jewellery but every craft show that I visit I find myself leaving with a brooch! I have them all tucked away in a little draw…I have a lovely lime green crochet owl with pink button eyes…I think he is my favourite and he only cost me 50p!

  2. Alice says:

    I LOVE BROOCHES! Today I am wearing a sparrow (I think, I wasn’t in the Young Ornithologist’s Club unfortunately). Most of mine are still packed away from the move to Hastings but once we get settled I’m getting them all out again. Most of them are pinned on nice fabric in a big gaudy silver frame, I like being able to see them all at once.

    My favourites of yours are the cat with the button eye, the votes for women, the turquoise-y one and the wheatsheaf-y one of your mums.

Leave a Reply

