52 Weeks/52 Polishes: #4 Essie Bordeaux

I have quite a few Essie polishes and I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with them. I love the colours, but often I find that they just don’t wear as long as some other polishes.

I’ve been banging on for a while about getting the perfect burgundy polish- not too red and not too brown. I though Bordeaux could be it. It’s not.

20130613_164420

This photo was taken less than 24 hours after I put it on and you can see chips already. There were two by this point: one on the thumb and one on the corner of the ring finger. I used the same method that I’ve used throughout the test so far and it just didn’t seem to ‘take’ here. It could be because I found the polish streaky and harder to control. There are two coats here, but a third would be best for optimal coverage, I think. There’s also a really annoying dent on the index finger. Sigh.

I love this colour, but it’s not a burgundy in my opinion. More like a dark red, which is fine, but I’m not after another bog-standard red! I’d probably use this as a base colour for a red glitter though, so it’s not a total loss, I guess.

Colour: Essie in Bordeaux

Day applied: Tuesday

Day first chipped: Wednesday

Removed: Thursday

Leave a Reply

