Two Bluebird Tea Co. rooibos teas

Recently, I thought I didn’t like rooibos tea. I even said so on Twitter. This is because a couple of years ago, I mistakenly drank some when I was hungover. All you need to know is that that cup of tea did not end well at all.

I’ve recently discovered Bluebird Tea Co and was very lucky to be offered the chance to try some of their teas (there will be other reviews in future- I have lots of teas and thoughts!) When they saw that I was a reluctant rooibos-er, they offered to send me some to try.

Rooibos is also known as ‘red tea’ and comes from a plant in South Africa that looks like this:

File:Rooibos (Aspalathus linearis)PICT2813 .JPG

Image: Wikipedia

The leaves, once dried, are red (duh) and are completely caffeine free. The taste can be a bit strange if you’re not used to it, but I find I like it, especially in flavoured blends. I won’t fib and pretend that I like it unflavoured so much. This is where Bluebird come in!

My utter, utter favourite of the rooibos on offer is Honey Bee Beautiful. I’ve actually ordered three packets of this in the last three weeks. I am utterly addicted and it has become my bedtime tea of choice. It has a wonderful taste of honey, as well smelling absolutely divine. I must admit, I would not  have usually picked this tea, as it has chamomile in it (not a massive fan) and nettle leaves! However, the ingredients in this are supposedly good for the skin and I’m always up for trying to improve my outer epidermis, so I gave it a try. Now I can’t imagine my life WITHOUT this tea. Just heavenly. It’s inspired me to make a honey loaf this weekend too!

The second tea I’ve been drinking with regularity is the Rhubarb and Custard rooibos.

I LOVE anything rhubarb; I grew up in the area known as the ‘Rhubarb Triangle’ in Yorkshire and I’ve had a taste for it in any guise since I was a kid. This tea has become my mid-afternoon tea, the one I have when I’ve had about three cups of normal tea but don’t fancy more caffeine just yet. It’s also perfect for sweet cravings, as the taste is sweet and creamy, without using sugar (natural sweetener stevia is used instead.) There’s also less than one calorie per cup, so great if you’re cutting down a bit!

I’ve noticed that by cutting down my caffeine intake, I am sleeping SO much better and I’m grateful to have found teas that are interesting enough for me to enjoy last thing before bed!

Do you fancy trying these? Let me know in the comments or on Twitter!

One thought on “Two Bluebird Tea Co. rooibos teas

Leave a Reply

