Baking Challenge #7: Hummingbird Bakery Brownies

I’m about to show you my most successful bake EVER. The other day I had a hankering for brownies. Plain, no-nonsense brownies. All the recipes I could find had extras: walnuts, cherries, whatever. I JUST WANTED PLAIN BROWNIES.

So, after a couple of suggestions on Twitter, I found the Hummingbird Bakery recipe. Dead simple- chocolate, eggs, a ton of butter and a truckload of sugar. On the indulgence scale, this goes all the way up to ‘Nigella’. I was dubious that this could work, but my auntie had taken the baby out for the morning and I wanted to bake, so I decided to just crack on with it.

I needed 200g of chocolate and my local shop had a really limited range. (If I did this again, I would use fair trade chocolate… I particularly have my eye on Divine’s range of flavoured chocolates- especially the orange flavoured!)

20130515_104955

Mmmmm, this was lush even just as a batter…

I must admit that it was a lot of fun making the batter- very quick and easy (and it was SUCH a chore cleaning the bowl afterwards. With a spoon. Into my mouth.) It was also really quick; about fifteen minutes prep and then 30 minutes in the oven. The house also smelt AMAZING.

20130515_112219

The resulting brownies were perfect- slightly chewy on the outside and lovely and gooey on the inside. They also go very, very well with the English Rose tea I reviewed last week. It’s like a little slice of Turkish Delight, chocolatey heaven! (Benn, who’s a very critical person when it comes to my baking gave them 8 out 10. High praise indeed!)

This post was written in conjunction with Ethical Superstore.

 

2 thoughts on “Baking Challenge #7: Hummingbird Bakery Brownies

Leave a Reply

