Baking Challenge #6: Lemon Drizzle Cake

I’ve been slacking on the baking front recently, for a lot of different reasons, but I am trying to get one bake in a month at least. Once I’m back at work, I might find motivation to bake to take stuff in, but who knows? Anyway, I had two goes at this cake, which is from Paul Hollywood’s How To Bake book and is really easy (excpt as you’ll see, I tweaked it to taste!) Lemon drizzle is a massive favourite in our house- show me someone who doesn’t like it and I’ll show you a person who doesn’t like life.

The first attempt was a disaster. Well, sort of. The mega oven burnt it, as the dial isn’t the most accurate of beasts. When I followed the instructions for the drizzle topping (which was the same type as on the orange and rosemary cakes), I found that using one lemon wasn’t really enough.  The cake was slightly burnt, but edible and a bit… bland, really. No pizzaz. So, refusing to be discouraged, I tried again.

SAM_0302

Please ignore the hole in the middle where I rather over-enthusiastically tried to check if the cake was done…

For the second cake, I made some changes. First off, I added the juice and zest of half a lemon; the original recipe calls for using lemon curd only. I wanted the cake to be lemony through and through, so decided an extra kick was what it needed.

Next, I baked the cake itself in a brownie tin as opposed to a loaf tin. This meant that I did have to keep an eye on the mixture as it cooked much quicker, but it also prevented a burnt top.

Finally, for the drizzle, I used a lemon and a half, but kept the amount of sugar the same, which produced a topping that had just the right amount of zing and coverage.

SAM_0303

 

Have you got a favourite lemon drizzle recipe?

3 thoughts on “Baking Challenge #6: Lemon Drizzle Cake

  1. Hannah Ackroyd says:

    Ooh I’ve never tried making lemon drizzle cake, I’ll have to add it to the list! I’ve fallen behind with the baking challenge too due to exams and busy weekends at work! Luckily though I’ll have finished in just over a week so I have plenty of time to catch up!

Leave a Reply

