Dream Jobs

I’m going back to work soon and I’ve been thinking about jobs a lot. One of the things I’ve been daydreaming about is what would I do if I was given the opportunity to do ANY job of my choice. I had to narrow it down a bit. If anyone wants to offer me any of these jobs, feel free.

Tea taster/blender

Image: weheartit.com

I guess this one would be pretty obvious, right? I would LOVE this job. When I used to write my tea blog, I tried loads of varieties of tea, all different kinds. I got to the point where I could identify different teas on look and smell (particularly green teas.) I’d love to be able to walk in somewhere and just say, “Right, we’re going to make this today.” I actually have a list of teas I’d like to see made, so I may look into blending my own at some point.

The person in charge of buying Christmas ranges for a large department store

Image: The Guardian

Yes, this is a weirdly specific job title, but I love the idea of choosing what would be the big sellers. I assume buyers have to work months in advance, talking to clients and arranging stuff to be ready by August. I wouldn’t even be fussy about which department I worked in. I would just LOVE it. (I would maybe get bored of Christmas though by the time it comes around, right?)

The person who names cosmetics

full-finish lipstick

Image: Benefit

I love weirdly named makeup. As I have a strange brain, I would probably come up with all sorts of odd names for lipsticks and nail polishes. I mean, who wouldn’t want to wear a lipstick named ‘Toxic Ballerina’ ?(Actually, that’s quite a good band name too.)

Professional blogger

I would love to be paid to write. It’s what I originally trained to do and I love blogging. I put a lot of time and effort into it. Of course, if I was a professional writer, it might make family life so much easier (or harder, depending on how you look at it.) Alas, I am realistic about these things and know that for me it will probably always be a nice sideline in which I get to name imaginary lipsticks and waffle on about tea and knitting.

5 thoughts on “Dream Jobs

Leave a Reply

