I can’t believe it’s six months already!

Yesterday marked six months since D was born. Which seems utterly insane when I think about it.

dsix

Top photos: D at 12 hours old, Christmas Day
Bottom photos: 10 weeks old, 5 1/2 months

It’s gone so quickly and we’ve both been through such a lot in a short space of time. It’s easy to forget how ill he was when he was first born, how I struggled to adjust to being a mum and with my own health problems. Now, I have a very nosy, noisy, flirty baby who loves being around people and seeing new things.

He’s grown so quickly already- he’s eating solids and trying to crawl (which is hilarious, because it looks like he’s swimming!) It won’t be long before he’s mobile and terrorising the cat. Β He’s also still big for his age, which is not a bad thing… it means he’s strong and resilient when he needs to be!

It’s been a steep learning curve. We coped with colic, colds and a nasty tummy bug in fairly quick succession. There have been days where I’ve been very unhappy and desperate for Benn to come home so he could take over. Being snowed in during January was the lowest point, I think. Even sleep deprivation in the early weeks wasn’t as bad as that; we adjusted fairly quickly to broken nights and found it hard when he started to sleep better!

Although D still isn’t sleeping through the night (sob), he has improved massively from the sleep deprevation he experienced at four months old. The day that he a) learns to put his dummy in by himself and b) sleeps right through, I will be tempted to throw a street party or something.

I have been so, so lucky with the support I have had during the lowest points of the last six months. My family, friends and health professionals have been there every step of the way. Every time someone has come to visit, or phoned me, or sent me random stuff in the post, I have appreciated it. It’s helped to keep me sane. Well, that and Postman Pat.

Benn has been amazing, despite the fact that sometimes he’s been more bewildered than me. We went from a couple who had never been around babies much to having what the health visitor described as a ‘high maintenance’ baby. Yes, we’ve bickered and got cross with each other, but generally, we’re a united team. Because of that, we have a healthy, happy (gigantic) baby. I’m looking forward to seeing how the next six months pans out.

PS- If you’re admiring D’s rather fetching babygro with the teapot on it (and I know you are!), you can purchase them from my friend Julia here. They’re very reasonably priced and she will put pretty much what you want on them… perfect for baby showers!

7 thoughts on “I can’t believe it’s six months already!

  1. LoveTeaBox.co.uk says:

    Great post.

    Sorry but I just have to say it – ‘rock on’ the teapot baby-grow.

    That is all
    M

  2. Lauren says:

    I genuinely can’t believe its been 6 months either! time flies eh! I think you’ve done amazingly, oh parenting guru of mine! πŸ™‚ x

Leave a Reply

