Knitting and Crochet Blog Week Day 2: A Mascot Project

Hmm, so today I have to find a project that I think embodies the house I’ve joined- so something interesting, fun and challenging. With this in mind, I decided to look around for something that fitted with both the creature of my house (the Monkey) and something I struggle to do in my own knitting (colourwork). After a search on Ravelry, I found this project:

monkey-hat-3

Image: Mary Anne Stephens

It’s Mary Anne Stephens’ Monkey Hat pattern, which you can buy here. I like this because I can imagine D wearing it (or, rather, me inflicting it on him!) and it would be a fairly simple knit on a small scale. As I was looking through all the patterns, I found myself discounting sock monkeys and toys; those just don’t appeal to me at all. I want something fun and practical.

Also, if I made this, I would probably make it in bright colours: maybe red and navy blue or chocolate and turquoise. I like to play around with colours (hello, bad teenage eyeshadow decisions!) and I always think the bolder the better. Plus D can’t talk yet and ergo can’t complain.

If I was making something for myself, I would probably play it safe and revert to something I know I would like to knit and later wear. So probably something like Cookie A’s Monkey socks.

Image: Knitty

I would probably make these in some of the hand-dyed sock yarn I haven’t looked at for ages. I’m thinking a very acid pink, perhaps? These would be my ‘reward’ knit for completing a hard project: easy enough for me to do, but interesting enough to keep me entertained.

What would your mascot project be? What do you think of my choices?

4KCBWDAY2

16 thoughts on “Knitting and Crochet Blog Week Day 2: A Mascot Project

  1. LizH says:

    I wondered about Cookie A’s Monkey socks as well, but decided they didn’t provide enough new challenges to be a true Monkey Mascot project for me. Love the hat.

  2. Renee Anne says:

    I’ve been working on my Monkey Socks for a few months…with a toddler in the house, it takes me forever to do anything. The problem is also that I’m a busy little bee…and I have four or five other WIPs going on right now…and I want to knit all the things.

  3. Jean Brooks says:

    I am wandering down the street of old age and am still crocheting. Over the years I have made many simple hats. Now I have quite a few left and I am going to crochet some decorations for them. Just for fun !

Leave a Reply

